Members | Sign In
Modiphius > STAR TREK: ADVENTURES
avatar

Determination

posted Jun 09, 2018 20:14:42 by NervePinch
Hi,
How often can a point of Determination be used - once per game or scene? And can you please direct me to where it the book it states this?
Thanks.
page   1
12 replies
avatar
Elijah said Jun 09, 2018 21:11:44
As many times as you have Determination. Each Main Character starts with 1 Determination and once used it is gone. The Characters can gain more Determination during the Mission when their Value/Directive is disadvantageous to current situation, by either Challenging a Value/Directive or taking a Complication to not going against a Value/Directive.
avatar
NervePinch said Jun 09, 2018 21:23:05
So once you've used your point of Determination, it's gone until a value or directive is challenged? So, it's possible to start a new session of play with no Determination if you used it up last game?
avatar
Elijah said Jun 09, 2018 22:06:16
Every Main Character stars every Mission with 1 Determination. They can have a max of 3 Determination at any point. Extra Determination is not carried over, the Characters always start with 1 Determination no matter what. Determination are just points, as Momentum or Threat, but are tied to a specific Character, as opposed a Group Pool.
Determination can be used for a number of things, it is explained on page 87 in more detail.

Edit: Here are some examples on how to get Determination:
http://14062642.weebly.talkiforum.com/20180408/confusing-challenging-values-vs-suffering-com-5561955/?viewmark=1
[Last edited Jun 09, 2018 22:09:54]
avatar
TimKellogg said Jun 12, 2018 20:44:25
Our players guard their Determinatin like it is gold - because it grants 2 automatic successes when used. In general, remember your players can aid one another, and use Momentum to gain dice to roll to complete a task or accomplish some facet of the mission.
avatar
NervePinch said Jun 13, 2018 14:46:25
Yeah, lots to learn and remember. Just read from another thread that you can't just bank Spirit of Discovery momentum. It needs to be spent on the task that called for the value to be activated. At least, I think that's how it goes. : )
avatar
Shran said Jun 13, 2018 16:00:53
With Spirit of Discovery that was something different (I think that was some theoretical infinite Momentum combo). The Spirit of Discovery talent just gives you an additional option of what Determination can do. In this case, add 3 Momentum to the pool. Once the Momentum is in the pool, you can either use it on the Task or keep it for other characters. So it doesn't need to be spent immediately.
avatar
NervePinch said Jun 13, 2018 19:56:11
With Spirit of Discovery that was something different (I think that was some theoretical infinite Momentum combo). The Spirit of Discovery talent just gives you an additional option of what Determination can do. In this case, add 3 Momentum to the pool. Once the Momentum is in the pool, you can either use it on the Task or keep it for other characters. So it doesn't need to be spent immediately.


If that's true then thanks for clearing that up.
avatar
Elijah said Jun 13, 2018 22:49:55
@Nerve Pinch, I believe Spirit of Discovery still needs to have a Value useful to the current situation to be used, even if you don't use the Momentum on the Task.
avatar
NervePinch said Jun 14, 2018 01:31:30
I believe Spirit of Discovery still needs to have a Value useful to the current situation to be used, even if you don't use the Momentum on the Task.


Is the value "...drive, spirit and courage to voyage into the unknown," or one of the four values of the character?
avatar
Shran said Jun 14, 2018 07:51:30
It is one of the four Values of the character. Also, using a Value is always connected with a Task. When performing a Task, if one of the Values applies, you can spend one point of Determination for one of the following effects:

* Add a d20 that already rolled a 1
* Re-roll your dice pool
* Immediately perform another Task
* Create an Advantage
* Ignore an Injury for the Scene

The Spirit of Discovery Talent just gives you an additional option:

* Add 3 Momentum to the group pool

avatar
Elijah said Jun 14, 2018 09:42:49
@Shran "Ignore an Injury for the rest of Scene" does not require an applicable Value, that is a special option
avatar
Shran said Jun 14, 2018 12:16:21
You are correct! That option has that special rule attached.
Login below to reply: