Members | Sign In
Modiphius > Robert E. Howards CONAN roleplaying game
avatar

Spending fortune on bonus d20s

posted Jun 03, 2018 14:20:12 by TracyGeorge
I know the players cannot roll more than 3 bonus d20s for a total of 5d20. However, when they spend a fortune they receive a d20 already set to 1. Looking at the rulebook on page 100 under Using Fortune says "Dice bought with Fortune count as part of the d20 pool, so if one or more Fortune points are spent, the maximum number of dice allowed in the roll is adjusted accordingly." So does this mean that this d20 does not count against the maximum bonus of 3d20 they can roll? For example, the player spends the fortune and gets a d20 and sets it to 1. They still have their 2d20 they can roll. The player then spends 3 momentum and gets a bonus of 3d20. So the player is going to roll 5d20 and has a Die (bought with fortune) already sitting at 1. Meaning the player basically has 6d20 affecting the roll.
page   1
4 replies
avatar
SteveHanson said Jun 03, 2018 14:32:49
You may only have a maximum of 5d20 no matter what you use to purchase them.
Forum Moderator

To his friend a man
a friend shall prove,
To him and the friend of his friend;
But never a man
shall friendship make
With one of his foeman's friends.
--Havamal
avatar
TracyGeorge said Jun 03, 2018 14:42:44
Thanks. Trying to get my head around this new RPG. Really liking it though. My regular RPG group is going to try it today to see if this is the system we are going to switch to or stay with our present system.
avatar
SteveHanson said Jun 03, 2018 18:22:35
Enjoy. Blessings of Mitra upon you.
Forum Moderator

To his friend a man
a friend shall prove,
To him and the friend of his friend;
But never a man
shall friendship make
With one of his foeman's friends.
--Havamal
avatar
rrcautela007 said Jun 04, 2018 14:48:30
Its supah dupah awesome sauce with a big bloody bastard sword on top
Login below to reply: