Members | Sign In
Modiphius > Robert E. Howards CONAN roleplaying game
avatar

Sorcery question

posted May 13, 2018 02:37:56 by Aaron.C
Hi guys,
Just trying to work out sorcery.
If the evil wizard casts dismember on a character.
Is this just one action or does he need a second action to actually use it in combat? The second action being needed is what seems necessary as per the 3rd paragraph under ‘casting a spell’ on page 170, but i really don’t understand how that is supposed to work.
Second question is; can the defender use a reaction and dodge the attack like they would against other ranged attacks?
Thanks guys
page   1
4 replies
avatar
rrcautela007 said May 14, 2018 06:32:37
I would say a Reaction's in order only if the spell is explicitly stated as being an "attack".
avatar
Shran said May 26, 2018 18:46:10
I'm not sure if I understand the rules perfectly myself, but I think it works like this:

The sorcerer casts Dismember. This is a D1 Sorcery test, and you can spend Momentum as normal, including the spends from the tables. Since Dismember has "Duration: 1 attack", I assume it somehow gives you access to some sort of mystical ranged weapon. You then have to make an actual Ranged Attack to use it.

I'm not so familiar with the Conan world, but I imagine that you e.g. conjure a fireball that you then actually have to throw at someone.
avatar
SteveHanson said May 27, 2018 14:43:02
Basically 1 action and yes.
Forum Moderator

To his friend a man
a friend shall prove,
To him and the friend of his friend;
But never a man
shall friendship make
With one of his foeman's friends.
--Havamal
avatar
Shran said May 28, 2018 07:50:50
So making the ranged attack is included in the Sorcery test? Then I have read the description wrong.
Login below to reply: