Members | Sign In
Modiphius > Robert E. Howards CONAN roleplaying game
avatar

Spending Doom to negate Qualities / Effects

posted May 03, 2018 18:49:38 by JohnBellando
In the rules, it mentions that weapons with multiple Qualities that trigger on Effects trigger ALL those Qualities with a single Effect die. If multiple Effect dice are rolled, only those with "X" get an increased power.

Also for some Qualities (Knockdown/Stun in particular), it says that the target may ignore the Quality if they spend 1 Doom / Effect rolled.

My question is this: Say a weapon inflicts both Knockdown and Stun and the player rolls 2 Effect Dice in the Combat Dice roll. The NPC wants to ignore both Qualities/Conditions. Which is correct?
A) The NPC spends 2 Doom and negates both Knockdown and Stun because there were 2 Effects Rolled and since all Qualities are triggered by a single Effect Die, they can all be ignored with a single Doom / Effect die.
B) The NPC spends 2 Doom to negate either Knockdown OR Stun (or 4 Doom to negate both) because each Quality must be ignored separately using the total Effect Dice rolled.

Option A seems the most likely (If it's easy to inflict multiple qualities, it should be as easy to ignore them). Option B double counts Effects for the purpose of ignoring them, which makes it twice as expensive to ignore an effect than to apply it.

At our table right now, we're using Option A, but I'm curious if there is a definitive "Rules as Intended" explanation?

Thanks,
John
[Last edited May 03, 2018 18:50:02]
page   1
3 replies
avatar
SteveHanson said May 04, 2018 15:44:30
B. There's no free rides. You pay doom to avoid each. As a GM, I would NOT pay 4 doom and instead pay 1 doom to add a minion (perhaps a crocodile?) that interposes on the next attack (2 doom)
Forum Moderator

To his friend a man
a friend shall prove,
To him and the friend of his friend;
But never a man
shall friendship make
With one of his foeman's friends.
--Havamal
avatar
JohnBellando said May 04, 2018 18:41:54
Steve
Thanks for the reply. I'm not sure that I would consider this a 'free ride'. The attacker activates ALL qualities with a single Effect but the defender has to negate each one separately? That seems harsh on the defender in all cases (PC or non-PC). I'm not sure how the 1 Doom to add a minion helps in the case of weapon qualities.

John
avatar
SteveHanson said May 05, 2018 15:02:30
But that's how it works. Rest assured that its still ok for the GM to change any rules he doesn't like.
Forum Moderator

To his friend a man
a friend shall prove,
To him and the friend of his friend;
But never a man
shall friendship make
With one of his foeman's friends.
--Havamal
Login below to reply: