Members | Sign In
Modiphius > STAR TREK: ADVENTURES
avatar

Combat Action: Direct - Increased Difficulty?

posted Apr 19, 2018 10:16:57 by StephenBirks
Normally if a PC wants to perform an additional task, they would spend momentum and the difficulty is increased. In space combat if a different PC wants to fire the weapons after the Tactical Officer already has, that would be an Override and increases the difficulty. However I cannot see that the Captain using Direct to get the Tactical Officer to fire again would increase the difficulty. This looks to be right as the "penalty" for firing again is in using up the 1/scene Direct, but I want to be sure. Can anyone weigh in on RAW vs RAI?
page   1
14 replies
avatar
SteveHanson said Apr 19, 2018 13:56:22
That's correct - you're using up both another character's turn and a limited-use option to get that extra action, which is a sufficient limitation on that way of getting an extra Task.

Note that there's one other way of getting a second Task for your character in a Round: spending Determination (though this requires an appropriate Value or Directive as usual with Determination), which also does not increase the Difficulty.

No character may take more than two Tasks per round, regardless of how they get the second one, and Direct counts as both the Commanding character's Task and that of the character they are Directing.
Forum Moderator

To his friend a man
a friend shall prove,
To him and the friend of his friend;
But never a man
shall friendship make
With one of his foeman's friends.
--Havamal
avatar
jonrcrew said Apr 19, 2018 14:40:50
spending Determination (though this requires an appropriate Value or Directive as usual with Determination), which also does not increase the Difficulty


Interesting - the conflict reference sheet from the GM screen says it does increase difficulty. The core rules don't specify, but the implication is that it doesn't.

Is it safe to assume the reference sheet is wrong?
avatar
StephenBirks said Apr 19, 2018 14:48:32
Thanks Steve. I knew about the 2 tasks per round but admittedly forgot about a determination task, as it has not cropped up in my game yet.

I'm at that stage right now where things are starting to set in my mind without having to endlessly check the book, and I don't want incorrect assumptions to be the information that gets stuck. (like a generic "repeated actions are at +1 difficulty"). Had it with D&D and it took years to unlearn and relearn everything.
avatar
StephenBirks said Apr 19, 2018 14:52:36
@JonCrew - Something else to add to the Errata
avatar
jonrcrew said Apr 19, 2018 16:02:10
So the reference sheet is wrong? (It makes more sense logically!)
avatar
PatricHenson said Apr 19, 2018 16:11:12
A Surge of Activity under the heading "Using Values" shows that, if you have the value for it, you can get an extra task with no difficulty increase.
The Swift Task, as shown in the table on page 178, can be used by spending two Momentum, but increases the difficulty of that task by one.
"Lease and pong life. Prosp long and liver."
—Varek of Sulkin'
avatar
StephenBirks said Apr 19, 2018 16:20:50
@PatricHenson - The Conflict Reference card which comes with the GM Screen specifically states that additional Combat Actions from Determination spend incur a +1 difficulty penalty, which is what JonCrew is getting at. It seems to be another error for Errata.
avatar
PatricHenson said Apr 19, 2018 17:43:18
I was just saying what the book says (which is what I would go with). Since I don't have said sheets, I can't say whether or not they're accurate, but if that's true, then they aren't.

The reason the Swift Task increases in difficulty is because it only costs 2 Momentum. One point of determination is analogous to three Momentum, thus the difficulty difference.
[Last edited Apr 19, 2018 18:16:37]
"Lease and pong life. Prosp long and liver."
—Varek of Sulkin'
avatar
TimKellogg said May 23, 2018 22:02:05
In space combat, what about a ship that has a high Security rating, don't they have a second weps console which can operate the great guns?
avatar
Deadmanwalking said May 24, 2018 00:16:05
As I noted in the other thread, per p. 258 they can indeed have such a console.
avatar
TimKellogg said May 24, 2018 17:21:12
DeadmanWalking - Nathan chimed in to make the point that only player character ships have the option of a second weps console if security 4 or over.
avatar
LucasCunningham said May 25, 2018 08:14:50
As Englisch is not my native language I have to ask again/for confirmation.

Yesterday, space cabat.

Player Ship with 4 Players, 4 Actions
Enemy BoP B'Rel-Class, Scale 3, 3 Actions

Player Ship Maneuvers und Warps between the B'Rel and their Civillian Target. 1 Action for the Players, Helmsperson
Captain Activates Quick to Action
Player Ship fires Phasers on the Bird of Pray, dealing Heavy Damage: Difficulty was 3 (2 for Phasers + 1 for close Range), 2 Action for the Players, Security Officer
Bird of Pray is Trying to Ram the Player Ship but sadly missed
Captain give the Security Officer the Order to fire again. 3 Action for the Players, Captain, Direct Action
Security Officer Fires again Phasers: Difficulty 2 for Phasers + 1 for Close Range + 1 for Second Attack

My question, even if it is already answered abouve, sorry: Is it possible, that the Security Officer Fires a second time?
avatar
jonrcrew said May 25, 2018 08:46:15
@Lucas: certainly, the second attack action you've listed (Captain Directs Security to fire again) is specifically allowed. But there would not be a "Second Attack" penalty since it's using Direct (top answer here!).

The Security Officer would not then be able to use Swift Action (momentum) or Surge of Activity (determination) to fire a third time as he's already had 2 actions.

However, another character who has yet to act (your unused Action 4), could use Override to fire the weapons a third time at +1 penalty (for the Override).

Does that make sense?

(Hoping I've got that right!)
avatar
LucasCunningham said May 25, 2018 10:44:24
Thank you, that indeed make sense.
Login below to reply: