The title more or less sums it up, but I'll elaborate for clarity. Page 293 of the core book explains the three criteria by which characters can be eligible for a milestone. The first two (challenging a value or directive and suffering a lethal injury) are entirely self explanatory, and obviously channeling a value to spend Determination would also qualify as "using" a value or directive.
My question would be "what else counts as "using" a value or directive?" Is this defined somewhere in the rules and I've just missed it?
My assumption and preference has been that good roleplaying relevant to the criteria should count (such as a character making a bad moral call because of their values, or playing strongly to a value about inquisitiveness for good or ill, for example), but if the answer to my question is that only a direct, mechanical use of values and directives qualifies, what's the point of this criteria given that the only reliable source of additional discipline points (namely challenging) already qualifies you for a milestone?
EDIT: We are aware of the rules as written (unless, as I mentioned, there is a definition of what constitutes use of values/directives tucked away somewhere), including the basic rules about determination and niche sources of extra points such as the benefits of the Captain and First Officer positions. My question is about interpretation, if that clarifies things at all.
[Last edited Apr 02, 2018 04:29:38]