Members | Sign In
Modiphius > STAR TREK: ADVENTURES
avatar

Supporting Characters and Determination?

posted Feb 27, 2018 12:00:15 by TonyPi
How do Supporting Characters gain Determination?
Contributor to Continuing Mission at continuingmissionsta.wordpress.com. F&SF author.
page   1
8 replies
avatar
StephenBirks said Feb 27, 2018 12:23:48
It's an interesting one. I would personally be in favour of them gaining one each time they get a new Value. Subsequently their Values (and Directives) can then be challenged as per a PC
avatar
SteveHanson said Feb 27, 2018 16:02:24
They don't, unless they have one or more Values. If they have Values, they can gain Determination using their Values in the normal way.
Forum Moderator

To his friend a man
a friend shall prove,
To him and the friend of his friend;
But never a man
shall friendship make
With one of his foeman's friends.
--Havamal
avatar
TimKellogg said Apr 03, 2018 17:06:14
So, after a mission, in which the Supporting Character has been activated by a player, they earn a Value - correct?
avatar
TonyPi said Apr 03, 2018 17:12:59
It's one of the possibilities of Supporting Character advancement, but it doesn't have to be the advancement type chosen.
Contributor to Continuing Mission at continuingmissionsta.wordpress.com. F&SF author.
avatar
StephenBirks said Apr 04, 2018 07:49:39
@TimKellogg - This is incorrect. Per Pg 134 - When you introduce a Supporting character AFTER the first time they were created (i.e. not the mission they were created in) you may choose ONE option - Add a Value (Max 4), Add an Attribute (Max 1), Add a Discipline (Max 1), Add a Focus (Max 3), Add a Talent (Max 4). This is in their re-introduction, not at the end of the mission.
avatar
TimKellogg said Apr 06, 2018 14:22:04
StephenBirks said 2 days ago
@TimKellogg - This is incorrect. Per Pg 134 - When you introduce a Supporting character AFTER the first time they were created (i.e. not the mission they were created in) you may choose ONE option - Add a Value (Max 4), Add an Attribute (Max 1), Add a Discipline (Max 1), Add a Focus (Max 3), Add a Talent (Max 4). This is in their re-introduction, not at the end of the mission.

Thanks, Stephen! I KNEW I had read it somewhere!
avatar
StephenBirks said Apr 06, 2018 14:42:39
Thanks, Stephen! I KNEW I had read it somewhere!


You're welcome. TBH this is me all too often. I know I read a rule, but when I go to find it, I never can (sometimes even when the information is duplicated in different chapters!)
avatar
TimKellogg said Apr 07, 2018 19:42:43
I am an auditory-kinesthetic learner, so I do much better having somebody explain the rules to me, play it, THEN go back and read the rules. I learn them much faster that way, and retain them much more clearly. Again, thanks!
Login below to reply: