Members | Sign In
Modiphius > STAR TREK: ADVENTURES
avatar

Rules Query: Area Phaser Effect

posted Feb 08, 2018 11:36:39 by StephenBirks
In our game the other night we made use of the Area effect using the ship's Phasers. Effects were rolled on the Challenge Dice so multiple ships were affected. All fine, no problem so far. Then reading the Area entry it makes no mention as to whether the damage is duplicated for each effect, or if damage is divided. We went with duplicated, but I couldn't find a definitive statement either way.

Is damage duplicated RAI? If so what is the intended Momentum cost for additional damage, i.e. does adding a single addition damage become duplicated as well?
page   1
3 replies
avatar
SteveHanson said Feb 08, 2018 16:52:27
Each affected target suffers the total damage rolled (including from Momentum, the cost of which remains unchanged).
Forum Moderator

To his friend a man
a friend shall prove,
To him and the friend of his friend;
But never a man
shall friendship make
With one of his foeman's friends.
--Havamal
avatar
StephenBirks said Feb 08, 2018 16:57:22
Thank Steve. So if we rolled say 1,2,effect and spent 1 momentum for damage, 2 targets take 5. That's how we played it but as I couldn't see a definite answer I was a little unsure.
avatar
SteveHanson said Feb 09, 2018 02:48:49
You are indeed correct.
Forum Moderator

To his friend a man
a friend shall prove,
To him and the friend of his friend;
But never a man
shall friendship make
With one of his foeman's friends.
--Havamal
Login below to reply: