Members | Sign In
Modiphius > Robert E. Howards CONAN roleplaying game

Rules questions

posted Nov 06, 2017 00:08:23 by Dislikes_Elves
Hi there!

After reading the rules twice and having played a few games, there are still questions. I'll first post the questions that actually came up during play (all pages are from the COre Rule Book):

P. 78: "Impervious" (Resistance talent) - it states "When you suffer a Wound, you may pay 1 Fortune point to ignore that Wound entirely." What does that mean? Does the wound not happen at all? Because the Fortune talent on p. 90 "Better lucky than dead" (Which costs 50% more in XP) states: Whenevery you suffer a Wound or Traumam you may spend 1 Fortune point to ignore it entirely. In this case, the Wound or Trauma simply does not happen, though the attack inflicts damage normally in all other regards."

So, is there a difference between the two talents besides that the fortune talent is also applicable to a Trauma? Also, is the Fortune point spend immediately or only once it is the character's turn (I guess immediately)?

P. 80 "Stubborn as a mule" (Resistance Talent): "When already suffering from an injury, you may substitute your Resistance skill for Discipline, if desired." What does "suffering from an injury" mean: suffering from a Wound or is 1 point of Vigor loss sufficient? What about a wound that is ignored via a Fortune point, does it count (I guess yes)? D

P. 97 "Difficulty Modifiers": I know, it's my job as a GM to set the difficulty but any guidelines to the difficulty for shooting into melee? Or should just a complication strike an allied targert, e.g.?

P. 121/122: "Sacrifical armor": If I sacrifice armor to prevent a wound, is all the armor soak in the hit location destroyed? So, no difference between "Heavy clothing" and "Heavy Armor" in that reagrd? (I guess so, because of the last sentence "...and will not provide any Armor soak against any further hits to that location."

P. 154 "Unforgiving X" (the weapon quality): What does "If the target of this attack was affected by an Exploit action immediately before this attack was made..." mean, especially what does "immediately before" mean? Since the exploit action is (normally) a standard action, does it mean, to use the advantage of "Unforgiving", one has to use the "Swift action momentum spend" (or use a Fortune point to get a second standard action)? Or is "immediately before" also "before the end of the next turn" of the PC (like written in the Exploit description (p. 115)?

P. 275: Fortune points:

- Can a character use a fortune point whenever he needs it or only when it is his turn? E.g. Can a PC spend a Fortune point when he's being attacked to quickly bring his vigor to full before damage is dealt? Can a fortune point be spent for a reaction (like parry) or to ignore the effects of a wound before making the parry test?

- When I use a Fortune popint to "Overcome a weakness", i.e. "to ignore the effects of all instances of a single type of Harm (...) until the end of the current scene." Does that only applay to Wounds I suffered at the moment I spent the Forune point or also for later ones? Say, the PC suffers from 2 Wounds, he spends a Fortune point to ignore these. Next round, he suffers another wound: what happens? Is the new wound ignored (in regard to its effects) as well (without spending a new Fortune point)? If yes, could one spend a Fortune point at the beginning of a Action scene so that any potential Wound won't impede him through this action scene? If not, does only the new wound cause the difficulty of physical tests to go up or are the old wounds factored in? So in the example, the 3rd wound - if it's not ignored -because of the earlier Fortune point - does it increase the difficulty of physical skill tests by 1 or 3 steps?

P. 290 "Upkeep": "Upkeep isn't just food and lodgings. It encompasses anything and everything...such as...reparing armor...and replenishing lost supplies and ammunition." So, if the PC sacrificed his heavy armor on 3 locations during the adventure, thanks to upkeep it's again in full working condition with no additional skill check? Same if the PC spent four volleys of throwing knives (or arrows) during the adventure, he gets all four volleys back during upkeep? I think that upkeep is too cheap...

P. 309 "Incorporeal": "An incorporeal creature gains X points of Armor Soak..." - So, does the weapon quality "Piercing" help against, say ghosts?

I'd really appreciate answers or thoughts to these questions. Thanks in advance!
[Last edited Nov 06, 2017 00:12:42]
page   1
5 replies
SteveHanson said Nov 06, 2017 17:19:07
Impervious leads on to iron skinned giving you extra Soak and has the Prereq of just a scratch. So while both can avoid Wounds with Fortune points Impervious spends less on Wounds because they have a higher threshold before damage becomes a wound. Both talents work in essentially the same way mechanically. You have to pay immediately so no sneaky invoking a trait on your turn to get a Fortune point to heal the wound.
Injury should have been replaced with Wound.
A complication hitting a fellow PC is fine and you might want to increase Diff by +1. Be fair though and roll basic damage a characters awareness wouldn’t help in hurting their friends. You want to hurt a character spend doom and add CDs to damage that way. (you might also allow the archer to use trick shot to avoid this penalty but that’s your call)
Heavy clothing isn’t Armor. It has soak but you need to wear actual armour to get this ability. Yes you lose the whole piece. Remember an attack isn’t a single blow so the piece might be punctured, had its buckles sundered or be so bent that you have to drop it so you can move your arm.
If a character takes an exploit action (Eg sneaks up on a target, finds a structural weakness in the door etc) your next action (whether swift action, a riposte, or when you come up in initiative again) gains the bonus.

Fortune points are a very limited currency and while as a GM you can veto their use the answer is a very general yes.
On your back with 1 vigor left, yes you can spend the fortune point to recover your vigor. Yes you can spend it prior to a parry to avoid dice penalties.
Yes ignore the effects of all the Harms of that type which you currently have. So take an extra wound, sorry your not covered for that wound and it’ll cause penalties.
If fortune points seem powerful they are meant to be. Remember your Nemesis characters get them too AND have the whole doom pool to use to get them.
Upkeep – characters are heroic adventurers and assumed to be reasonably self sufficient. If a character has purchased the item they are assumed to start each adventure with it. And that’s the important part of upkeep. Just because the characters enter a tavern doesn’t mean it triggers upkeep. The adventure has to end and a new adventure has to begin for upkeep to work.
Also consider how much gold you reward people with. Are they living the high life? Dial it back. Are they robbing every corpse they come across? Reduce their reputations and maybe add a curse to the next adventure.
If your worried that a character has too much stuff remember you can charge skill test penalties. The quote from Howard that “Men wore steel openly in the maul” is the hint. It tells us that wandering around with Military equipment is not the norm. If a character has 10 reloads of arrows it’s the same as walking around with an Assault rifle today. People notice, people get upset if they think it’s inappropriate. Also while you can probably carry the weight (conan is very generous with encumberance) carrying a bunch of kit into a small cavern is a pain in the preverbial.
Mechanically yes an Incorporeal ghost (or flock of bats) is affected by Piercing (and Vicious) There is some commentary in the draft of Horrors of the Hyborian age that addresses this but ultimately its not a massive concern. Ghosts can return, bats can return. Besting these creatures in combat might not achieve the task of banishing them forever. It might only cause a respite from the problem.
Forum Moderator

To his friend a man
a friend shall prove,
To him and the friend of his friend;
But never a man
shall friendship make
With one of his foeman's friends.
ChrisFougere said Nov 06, 2017 17:36:45
I've also varied the base upkeep depending on where people are. I have one player who's basically spent all his carousing time building his rep only because he wants to pay 0 upkeep so imagine his shock when things were more expensive in a capital city than they were in a small border town :)
Dislikes_Elves said Nov 06, 2017 21:53:38
Thanks, I really appreciate the answers. The rules seem really PC-friendly. We played the introductory adventure from the core rule book and now play through the adventures from “Jewels“ (so far Seethers in the darkness, Thousand eyes (not really, the PC decided just to leave the City) and recently they escaped from the Red Pit. So far they were in little danger except for some lucky rolls by me or bad rolls by them. So, I don't think I awarded them too much and since the adventures are mostly combat encounters not much of social repercussions. So, we'll see how they do in the caves of the Dero.

Again, thanks very much for the answers (both of you).
WesleyWConnally said Dec 16, 2017 20:19:21
I'd like to tag on a couple of questions to Dislikes Elves' questions:

Several places refer to "Stun." For the life of me, I can't find what "Stun" is. It's logical that it would be a Condition, but it's not listed there. Is it just a synonym for "Staggered?"

What does it mean in the "monsters" stats when it has "Brawn 12 (2)" or similar. Specifically, what is the (2)?

Thanks in advance
Dislikes_Elves said Dec 17, 2017 10:09:04
Ha, I think I can answer these:

"Stun" is a weapon quality that inflicts the "Staggered" condition when one or more effects are rolled (p. 153 and p. 127 of the core rule book).

Numbers in brackets with monster stats depict an "inhuman attribute" (p. 309 of the core rule book): "One or more of the creature’s attributes are beyond human capabilities. This is indicated by a number, which is added as automatic successes on tests using the relevant characteristic." The example given is: "For example, a creature with Inhuman Brawn 1 gains one success on all Brawn tests, in addition to any generated by rolling." In the attribute block it'd look like "Brawn 14 (1)". Also, some inhuman attributes also have further effects as described on p. 309 (like inhuman Brawn or Willpower increasing the maximum Vigor or Vitality).

So in your example: Brawn 12 (2) means that the monster checks against 12 (+ Field of expertise if applicable) and always generates a minimum of two successes (+ those achieved by rolling the dice).

Hope that helps.
[Last edited Dec 17, 2017 10:09:46]
Login below to reply: