Members | Sign In
Modiphius > Mutant Chronicles RPG
avatar

Dimensional Flensing (and others) range question

posted Apr 18, 2017 16:14:07 by Matthew Hoeveler
So I was looking into strategies for my upcoming game, and there are a number of hordes of Cultists descending on the PCs position. they all have Dimensional Flensing as a gift, and the ability to pool their DS points to power the gift (which they would have to considering Flensing is Diff 2 Minimum and they only have 1 DSP each).

My question is this - the Flensing gift says that it effects all creatures within close (or medium) range, but not "of what?" Does it mean all creatures within the Heretic's Zone and possibly adjacent zones (and without excluding the heretic, it would likely be be a suicide bomb), or is this something that would be usable at a distance, which seems to be the intent - a fireball of sorts that is effectively Blast (Close or Medium)?
[Last edited Apr 18, 2017 16:14:32]
page   1
3 replies
avatar
SteveHanson said Apr 19, 2017 03:43:50
While I can't tell you officially what this ability does, flensing is a fancy term for skinning. So I picture this ability as being quite messy.
Forum Moderator

To his friend a man
a friend shall prove,
To him and the friend of his friend;
But never a man
shall friendship make
With one of his foeman's friends.
--Havamal
avatar
Matthew Hoeveler said Apr 19, 2017 13:19:30
Yeah, that suits the description...
avatar
Marc_Langworthy said Apr 26, 2017 14:27:56
Hi Matthew,

The target category states 'All creatures within range' and the effect states 'any creature within Close range (for D2) or Medium range (for D4)', so the intention is to affect anything within the same zone as, or one single adjacent zone to, the caster(s). This incudes the caster(s) if they affect their own zone.

I don't see any reason why you couldn't add in a Bleed effect if you wanted to. Something like this maybe.

Bleed: For one Momentum, the Heretic siphons a portion of each small void to act as a shield against their effects. The caster suffers no damage from the use of this Gift. In the case of multiple casters combining to wield this Gift, nominate one Heretic as the focus for the casting, who then gains the benefit previously described. On a one-for-one basis, further Momentum may be spent to shield additional casters of the Gift.

I'd go ahead and assume that the 'All creatures within range' for the target also means living creatures, which means that the Gift will not affect Unliving creatures.

Cheers!

Marc
[Last edited Apr 26, 2017 14:29:27]
Writer for Modiphius. Line Manager for Mutant Chronicles.
Login below to reply: