Members | Sign In
Modiphius > Star Trek Playtest Feedback (CLOSED)
avatar

Alpha Rules Queries

posted Nov 28, 2016 20:29:29 by SteveHanson
Have a question about the rules? Ask them here.
[Last edited Oct 10, 2017 23:51:59]
Forum Moderator

To his friend a man
a friend shall prove,
To him and the friend of his friend;
But never a man
shall friendship make
With one of his foeman's friends.
--Havamal
page   1 2 3 4 5 next last
359 replies
avatar
schielhau said Nov 28, 2016 22:36:12
Will you move the rules questions and clarifications from the discussion thread into this thread here?
avatar
OneShot said Nov 28, 2016 22:46:16
The rules for knockdown indicate that a character can add threat to negate the knockdown effect, for one threat per effect rolled. Since this is not a use of momentum, it isn't covered by the rule that states GMs can spend threat for the NPCs in the same manner as PCs can spend momentum. So, my question is: can the GM negate the effects of knockdown on NPCs by spending threat, or is this a PC-only option? Intuitively, I would say yes, but the rules as currently written seem to preclude that option (although I totally get these are still in draft form and not all the language kinks have been worked out).

(Edited for clarity.)
[Last edited Nov 28, 2016 23:00:50]
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Nov 28, 2016 23:24:33
The rules for knockdown indicate that a character can add threat to negate the knockdown effect, for one threat per effect rolled. Since this is not a use of momentum, it isn't covered by the rule that states GMs can spend threat for the NPCs in the same manner as PCs can spend momentum. So, my question is: can the GM negate the effects of knockdown on NPCs by spending threat, or is this a PC-only option? Intuitively, I would say yes, but the rules as currently written seem to preclude that option (although I totally get these are still in draft form and not all the language kinks have been worked out).

Yes. In all cases, where an option exists to add to Threat for the PCs, NPCs may use the same option by spending from Threat instead. The only exception to this is the Voluntary Failure rule, as NPCs can't have Determination.
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
avatar
DarthSarcastic said Nov 29, 2016 02:24:16
I have a rules clarification question. Basic task resolution...the rules state that when your dice come up equal to or less that the TN, it's a success. Then it says if you roll equal to or less than your focus...or roll a "Nat 1", you get 2 successes. Then the example has Scotty with a TN of 15 and a focus of 4, roll a 19 and a 4...giving him 2 successes (both from the 4). Should it have been 3 successes? 4=<TN gives 1 and 4=<Focus gives 2 more...or did you mean he gets 1 additional success for the focus..so 2 total successes? I could see giving 2 successes for a "Nat 1" tho...either from the TN or the Focus.

Thanks.
Rimmer: Step up to Red Alert!
Kryten: Sir, are you absolutely sure? It does mean changing the bulb.
-Red Dwarf
avatar
aramis_erak said Nov 29, 2016 04:32:01
NPC Types:
Elites
(A) do they have Values?
Nemeses
(B) How many is "several Values"?
(C) "full range of skill focuses"... Is that [4,3,2,2] as is mentioned at α1 p 3 § Focus?

Playtest Pregens
(D) None have the second 2 mentioned on α1 p 3 § Focus. Should we have players add the second 2? (If so, that's a cool way to allow personalizing the pregens, but should be mentioned on the sheets.)
(E) none specify intended division/role. Many it's obvious... Is that an oversight or intentional?

Adventure
(F) is the shuttle intended to fill a zone or merely be a source of cover within the zone?
(G) can a zone be inside another zone? (EG, inside the shuttle is one zone, outside is a second, and then quasi-gridlike for terrain beyond that. )
(H) Rules set the difficulty of challenges at the magnitude, but the adventure sets it separately... (§ Option 1, § option 2)

Just because my shirt is red
does not mean I'll soon be dead.

http://aramis.hostman.us/trek/sta/
avatar
SteveHanson said Nov 29, 2016 04:38:50
@Steven, it's 2 total. Anything equal to or below the TN succeeds, anything equal to or below the focus is an additional success.

Forum Moderator

To his friend a man
a friend shall prove,
To him and the friend of his friend;
But never a man
shall friendship make
With one of his foeman's friends.
--Havamal
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Nov 29, 2016 10:52:48
I have a rules clarification question. Basic task resolution...the rules state that when your dice come up equal to or less that the TN, it's a success. Then it says if you roll equal to or less than your focus...or roll a "Nat 1", you get 2 successes. Then the example has Scotty with a TN of 15 and a focus of 4, roll a 19 and a 4...giving him 2 successes (both from the 4). Should it have been 3 successes? 4=<TN gives 1 and 4=<Focus gives 2 more...or did you mean he gets 1 additional success for the focus..so 2 total successes? I could see giving 2 successes for a "Nat 1" tho...either from the TN or the Focus.

Rolling equal to or less than your Focus scores you two successes total, not in addition to those obtained for just getting equal to or under the Target Number.

Elites
(A) do they have Values?

At present, yes - typically one.

Nemeses
(B) How many is "several Values"?
(C) "full range of skill focuses"... Is that [4,3,2,2] as is mentioned at α1 p 3 § Focus?

B: More than one. Different Nemeses may have different numbers of Values.
C: In contrast to Elits, who can't have Focuses above 2, a Nemesis can have Focus values in the same normal range as PCs (up to 4); there is no specific requirement for them to follow the same pattern for PCs (and that 4, 3, 2, 2 is only a temporary set of ratings until we get character creation sorted).

Playtest Pregens
(D) None have the second 2 mentioned on α1 p 3 § Focus. Should we have players add the second 2? (If so, that's a cool way to allow personalizing the pregens, but should be mentioned on the sheets.)
(E) none specify intended division/role. Many it's obvious... Is that an oversight or intentional?

The pregens are deliberately less-detailed than the "senior staff" Pregens coming in the next pack - they have fewer Values, fewer Talents, and one fewer Focus each, plus slightly lower skill totals.
Division/role is something that comes after ship assignment, so it isn't something these characters have. However, for uniform colours/departments, assume they are in the department associated with their highest skill.

Adventure
(F) is the shuttle intended to fill a zone or merely be a source of cover within the zone?
(G) can a zone be inside another zone? (EG, inside the shuttle is one zone, outside is a second, and then quasi-gridlike for terrain beyond that. )
(H) Rules set the difficulty of challenges at the magnitude, but the adventure sets it separately... (§ Option 1, § option 2)

F: Both. It is a zone in its own right (you can hide within the shuttle), but you can take cover behind it while within the zone around it.
G: Yes. Zones are fairly abstract and fluid. Hopefully the image below will help.

H: Go with the way the Adventure presents it - it's easier to scale then. The main text will be made clearer.
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
avatar
OneShot said Nov 29, 2016 14:34:23
Yes. In all cases, where an option exists to add to Threat for the PCs, NPCs may use the same option by spending from Threat instead. The only exception to this is the Voluntary Failure rule, as NPCs can't have Determination.


Thanks for the clarification, Nathan. After I got your answer, I found the same passage in the rules that I had apparently missed on my previous read-throughs. So that was entirely user error.
avatar
ThomasBarnes said Nov 29, 2016 20:51:06
Thanks for the zone graphic. I'm printing off a copy to use in the first playtest run
avatar
DarthSarcastic said Nov 30, 2016 11:47:17
it's 2 total. Anything equal to or below the TN succeeds, anything equal to or below the focus is an additional success


So (using the Scotty example-page 4), you're saying the '4' being less than the TN means he suceeded, and the actual #of successes (2 in this case) only comes from the fact that the '4' was also less than the Focus.

Rolling equal to or less than your Focus scores you two successes total, not in addition to those obtained for just getting equal to or under the Target Number.


This just confuses me more. Sorry.

I read it (the example in the rules-page 4) as he gets 1 success because he got below the TN and an additional 2 successes because he got under his focus...therefore totaling 3 successes. Or is it "take the higher number of successes"?
Rimmer: Step up to Red Alert!
Kryten: Sir, are you absolutely sure? It does mean changing the bulb.
-Red Dwarf
avatar
RichardTurnbull said Nov 30, 2016 12:18:42
The focus is how large a critical range you have. So without a specific focus you crit on a 1, if you have a focus of4 then you crit on 1-4. If you succeed but don't crit you get one success, if you crit you get two, total for that dice.
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Nov 30, 2016 12:46:55
Each d20 scores zero, one, or two successes, depending on whether it rolled above the TN, equal to or less than the TN, or equal to or less than the Focus. That's for each individual die; once you've determined that for each die, add the total successes from all dice rolled together. So, with the example you reference, he gets 2 successes from the die that rolled 4 (equal to or less than Focus), and none from the other die (above TN).

I'll work on clarifying the text to make this completely clear. If it makes it clearer, you score one success for rolling equal to or less than your TN, and an additional success (for a total of two from that die) if you roll equal to or less than your Focus (or a 1, if you have no specific Focus).
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
avatar
AdamColeman said Nov 30, 2016 15:07:19
if you roll equal to or less than your Focus (or a 1, if you have no specific Focus).


Essentially, every character has a Focus of 1 in any skill uses they don't have another Focus in :)
avatar
PatricHenson said Nov 30, 2016 19:19:12
When making a melee attack, if the defender wins the opposed task, does he deal damage to the attacker, or is it simply a block? I would assume it is only a block unless the defense has some sort of counter attack talent that comes into play. It would seem like a defender would essentially get a lot of extra turns in a round if it were that way, so I assume not.
"Lease and pong life. Prosp long and liver."
—Varek of Sulkin'
avatar
ScottB said Nov 30, 2016 19:24:11
I actually assumed the opposite Patric due to the wording about Opposed Tests.

"When two characters are in direct opposition to one another, each character involved performs a Task. The character who achieves the greatest quantity of Momentum succeeds, achieving his goal, and then subtracts the other character’s Momentum total from his own."

So whoever achieves the great Momentum nets the difference between the two (or more I suppose) rolls and proceeds with the Success portion - whether to determine damage or other.

Do you think I've misread this?
[Last edited Nov 30, 2016 19:39:01]
This topic has been locked by a moderator, you can no longer reply.