Members | Sign In
Modiphius > Conan Preview Feedback (CLOSED)
avatar

Chapter 4 PREVIEW Feedback

posted Jun 17, 2016 18:02:22 by ChrisBirch
Please post feedback here
[Last edited Oct 10, 2017 23:44:15]
Founder & Publisher
page   1 2 3 next last
43 replies
avatar
Doug Justice said Jun 17, 2016 20:29:12
First sentence top of page 100 reads : In most circumstances, more than once dice of any given type are rolled at once.

Should read ...more than one...
[Last edited Jun 18, 2016 04:54:59]
avatar
Douglas Pharr said Jun 17, 2016 20:37:02
I am still struggling to understand STRUGGLES. In the example where Harek is chasing a Zamorian cut-purse, Harkek generated four successes, while the cut purse only generated two. The difficulty was Challenging (D2). The rules say the one with the most momentum wins, but you subtract the loser's momentum from the winner's momentum.

I thought Harek's roll resulted in him completing the Challenging (D2) task with two momentum. The cut purse completed the Challenging (d2) task with 0 momentum, so Harek won and has two momentum to spend.

But the example seems to indicate the cut purse's two successes are subtracted from Harek's four, so Harek only has two success, which are not enough to generate momentum.

I originally thought when resolving struggles, you subtract the lower number of success from the higher number, and see if the higher number is still high enough to pass the test. So in the above example, subtract the cut purse's two success from Harek's 4 success, and Harek has two success which are enough to pass the Challenging (D2) test, so he wins the struggle. But then my friends pointed out that I was handling STRUGGLES incorrectly, as the highest Momentum wins. SO I was really looking forward to completely understanding how they work in the final rules.

I still don't think I understand what is intended by the authors.

avatar
Doug Justice said Jun 17, 2016 20:38:46
First paragraph, second column p.101 a sentence reads : If the Test Number for an action is 20 or greater, any roll of 20 is considered both a success and a Complication.

Should Test Number be Target Number?
avatar
AllenOwen said Jun 17, 2016 22:27:20
In the example on page 100, the Skill Focus is 2, but a little later in the example, the Skill Focus is 3.
avatar
Bryan Rendell said Jun 18, 2016 01:01:48
Shouldn't that be "more than one die"? Singular?
avatar
MikeWatts said Jun 18, 2016 08:37:12
First paragraph, second column p.101 a sentence reads : When rolling multiple 20s


To keep uniform with other text, should that not be multiple d20s
avatar
MikeWatts said Jun 18, 2016 09:11:33
reply to Douglas Pharr

From that example you have Harek won with 4 successes against the cutpurse's 2. But then the successes of the loser are removed from the winners. So now Harek has only 2 successes. The difficultly was Challenging(D2), so he needed 2 successes to succeed, which is all he had left over. To get momentum he need 3 or more successes after passing the challenge.

Harek needed to beat his TN14
Cutpurse needed to beat his own TN10
Both momentum are compared (Harek D2 - 4 = 2, cutpurse D2 -2 = 0)
winner is one with most Momentum (Harek won)
The successes are compared against the difficulty of D2 (Harek had 4 successes so succeeded with 2 momentum)
losers successes are removed from winners momentum (2-2= 0)
Harek succeeded but gained no momentum


This is now I read and understood that part of the text.

IF I change the DC for the cutpurse to Difficulty Average D1.

Harek needed to beat his TN14
Cutpurse needed to beat his own TN10
Both momentum are compared (Harek D2 - 4 = 2, cutpurse D1 -2 = 1)
winner is one with most Momentum (Harek won)
The successes are compared against the difficulty of D2 (Harek had 4 successes so succeeded with 2 momentum)
losers successes are removed from winners momentum (2-2= 0)
Harek succeeded but gained no momentum

But what happens in the case of Hareks difficulty being Daunting (D3). This is where I get confused. Likely in the rules elsewhere, but best to be reiterated here as well.

Harek needed to beat his TN14
Cutpurse needed to beat his own TN10
Both momentum are compared (Harek D3 - 4 = 1, cutpurse D2 -2 = 0)
winner is one with most Momentum (Harek won)
The successes are compared against the difficulty of D3 (Harek had 4 successes so succeeded with 1 momentum)
losers successes are removed from winners momentum (1-2= -1)
Harek succeeded but gained no momentum

But what does -1 do for the momentum loss. Harek only had 1 momentum and lost 2.
[Last edited Jun 18, 2016 09:11:56]
avatar
David Thomas said Jun 18, 2016 12:46:38
Added all this to the Google Plus document.
avatar
VenomousFiligree said Jun 18, 2016 19:10:14
It costs one point of Momentum to increase the Difficulty of a test by one step, two points of Momentum for the second step, and three points of Momentum for the third step


So to increase the difficulty by 3 steps costs 9 momentum?
[Last edited Jun 18, 2016 19:10:31]
avatar
Douglas Pharr said Jun 18, 2016 21:25:17
Thank you, Mike Watts.I appreciate your response. I agree with your interpretation of the example:

"The successes are compared against the difficulty of D2 (Harek had 4 successes so succeeded with 2 momentum)
losers successes are removed from winners momentum (2-2= 0)"

But the rules say, "...the final amount of Momentum is reduced 1 point for each point of Momentum scored by the loser." In this example the loser did not score any Momentum. So the example is not consistent with the written rules.

Whichever way it was intended to be played is fine, but the rule and the example need to be consistent in the final version. Right now they are not.
avatar
David Thomas said Jun 18, 2016 22:08:21
@Venomous - 6 I think. 1+2+3

@Douglas - Harek succeeds with 4 successes earning 2 Momentum, due to the D2. The Zamorian succeeds with 2 success earning 0 Momentum.
Harek won the Struggle because he had more Momentum. Then you subtract the listing Momentum (0) from the winners (2) and Harek keeps that Momentum for the Test.
So Harek wins the Struggle and has 2 Momentum to spend.

The example is wrong.
avatar
Douglas Pharr said Jun 18, 2016 22:16:47
Thank you, David Thomas.
avatar
David Thomas said Jun 18, 2016 22:25:15
No problem!
avatar
MikeWatts said Jun 19, 2016 09:01:46
Douglas Pharr

Oh i see now. I missed that, you are correct it says momentum, I thought it meant successes. In the rules it says momentum, in the example it says successes.

Good thing more eyes than mine reading these, I would have missed that.
[Last edited Jun 19, 2016 09:05:18]
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Jun 19, 2016 11:15:58
So to increase the difficulty by 3 steps costs 9 momentum?

No. It's 1 Momentum for the first point, two for the second, three for the third, so 6 points for +3. I'll look at the wording to make it clearer.
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
This topic has been locked by a moderator, you can no longer reply.