Members | Sign In
Modiphius > Thunderbirds Co-Operative Game
avatar

Rules Questions

posted Jun 07, 2016 01:33:48 by Scott_Chisholm
Just set up my first solo game and had a few questions:

1. I think this applies to both solo and co-op: the character cards dealt at the beginning of the game are the only characters that can take actions and perform operations, correct? For instance, I've dealt Scott, Tin-Tin and Lady Penelope, so they are the only characters I can use to move the Thunderbird machines around. However, they can bring along the non-player characters to utilize their bonuses on missions. For example, Tin-Tin is off to address a land mission that says I get a +2 bonus if Virgil is present, so she loads up T2 with the applicable pod vehicles and drags Virgil along for the ride, gaining the +2 bonus. Is that also correct?

2. Does the lettering on the Tracy Island Brains' Notebook overlay confer some sort of sequence by which the pod vehicles must be built, or can I build the pod vehicles in whatever order I see fit?

3. It only takes one Technology token to build a pod vehicle?

Thanks for the help! I may have to call in sick tomorrow.... <cough! cough!> ;-)
Regards,

Scott Chisholm
page   1
7 replies
avatar
SteveHanson said Jun 07, 2016 02:40:30
1. Exactly
2. You can build them in any order.
3. only one.
Glad to hear you're enjoying the game. It much more fun when you have others to join you in playing.
Forum Moderator

To his friend a man
a friend shall prove,
To him and the friend of his friend;
But never a man
shall friendship make
With one of his foeman's friends.
--Havamal
avatar
Scott_Chisholm said Jun 07, 2016 14:17:04
Steve,

Thanks for the response. Once I get comfortable with the rules I intend to drag my family into it. My wife tends to shy away from "non-traditional" board games, so if I fumble explaining it to her I'll have a harder time getting her to play.
Regards,

Scott Chisholm
avatar
SteveHanson said Jun 07, 2016 14:22:52
It's Thunderbirds. Who couldn't want to play?
Forum Moderator

To his friend a man
a friend shall prove,
To him and the friend of his friend;
But never a man
shall friendship make
With one of his foeman's friends.
--Havamal
avatar
Scott_Chisholm said Jun 07, 2016 14:40:09
A follow-on question. Pretty silly actually....

4. I'm guessing FAB 2 can only travel via water spaces? Or, does it have wheels the same way FAB 1 has hydrofoils? ;-)
Regards,

Scott Chisholm
avatar
SteveHanson said Jun 07, 2016 14:54:00
Actually, it can go to any space, travelling up the rivers and waterways.
Forum Moderator

To his friend a man
a friend shall prove,
To him and the friend of his friend;
But never a man
shall friendship make
With one of his foeman's friends.
--Havamal
avatar
Scott_Chisholm said Jun 07, 2016 16:47:57
Steve,

Thanks again. After reviewing the rules I had an idea that would be the case as the rules did not explicitly restrict FAB 2 to the water spaces.
Regards,

Scott Chisholm
avatar
SteveHanson said Jun 07, 2016 16:50:32
That was the course we took. Rationalizing the fact that there was no rule against. Plus, I asked the designers.
Forum Moderator

To his friend a man
a friend shall prove,
To him and the friend of his friend;
But never a man
shall friendship make
With one of his foeman's friends.
--Havamal
Login below to reply: