Members | Sign In
Modiphius > Mutant Chronicles RPG
avatar

Official Core Book Errata

posted Oct 29, 2015 01:19:49 by BillHeron
I'm working on compiling the Official Errata for the MC Core Rulebook. If you've found any typos, grammar or other errors - please post them here and I'll add them to the log. Please add the page and paragraph if possible.
If you're asking for rules clarifications, please post as a new topic.
[Last edited Feb 08, 2017 05:19:30]
Silvershield GM. Achtung! Cthulhu, Infinity, and Mutant Chronicles freelancer.
Embroiled in all of the Mutant Chronicles 3e books in some way, occasionally as a writer.
page   first prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next last
219 replies
avatar
Anton Lupanov said Feb 06, 2016 12:09:43
Thank you for your answer. A question about opposed checks:

p.81 states that opposed tests are made with d1 difficulty by both parties.
p.126 states that if you are declaring dodge or parry then attack becomes an opposed test.

Does that mean that d3 ranged attack (due to range and lighting conditions) will become d1 if I try to dodge it? If it is not the case, then how it should be resolved?

This situation may arise outside of combat too. For example one character is trying to open a heavy door, and the other is trying to keep it closed, but one of them is distracted by Venusian man-eating mosquitoes (which, due to their man-eating nature, raise the difficulty by two steps).
[Last edited Feb 06, 2016 12:11:56]
avatar
MathiasGerdin said Feb 08, 2016 10:42:21
Hi!

I have been searching in the core book and the forum, but since I cannot find what happens when the GM rolls a repercussion, I thought it might be something for the errata.

So, well... What effects does a 20 have when the DM rolls it?

Thank you.
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Feb 08, 2016 12:54:30
Thank you for your answer. A question about opposed checks:

p.81 states that opposed tests are made with d1 difficulty by both parties.
p.126 states that if you are declaring dodge or parry then attack becomes an opposed test.

Does that mean that d3 ranged attack (due to range and lighting conditions) will become d1 if I try to dodge it? If it is not the case, then how it should be resolved?

This situation may arise outside of combat too. For example one character is trying to open a heavy door, and the other is trying to keep it closed, but one of them is distracted by Venusian man-eating mosquitoes (which, due to their man-eating nature, raise the difficulty by two steps).

Sorry about the late response. The forum software must've eaten my previous reply, because I was certain that I'd responded to this already.

Ignore p.81 - the difficulty of the individual tests remains as normal. If both tests beat their difficulty, compare the Momentum generated to determine the overall winner. The winner's total Momentum is not reduced by the loser's total Momentum - the values are simply compared to see who got more. The loser does not get to spend or bank the Momentum generated.

I have been searching in the core book and the forum, but since I cannot find what happens when the GM rolls a repercussion, I thought it might be something for the errata.

So, well... What effects does a 20 have when the DM rolls it?

Similar to what happens for a PC - the GM either creates a complication for the NPC there and then, or he removes two points of Dark Symmetry from the pool.

Rule of thumb - any interaction with the Dark Symmetry Pool that the players can make, NPCs can make "in reverse" - if a player action adds DSP, an equivalent NPC action removes DSP.

As an aside, if you have NPCs allied to the players, you can flip this around, so a squad of soldiers accompanying a group of PC Doomtroopers could use their normal NPC DSP spends in reverse, adding to the pool instead of taking from it. In this instance, those NPCs should be placed under the control of one of the players (and the command of that player's character, potentially). You're able to use the squad and mob rules to group a load of NPCs around a PC as well, which can be useful for mass battles.
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
avatar
MathiasGerdin said Feb 08, 2016 13:43:49
Thank you for the fast reply. This is the way I solved it myself, so thank you for logical rules that are easy to understand/figure out by oneself! :)
avatar
RaymondBennett said Feb 11, 2016 22:36:05
I noticed that the dark symmetry points required to use a reload for a nemesis NPC are two points per reload, but for troopers and elites, the cost to use a reload is just one. Is this a typo?
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Feb 12, 2016 12:43:45
Reloads for NPCs always cost 1 DSP per Reload. Same with similar resources like Coagulant, Parts, Oxygen, as needed.
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
avatar
RaymondBennett said Feb 12, 2016 13:34:10
Thanks for the clarification.
avatar
Justin Cranford said Feb 13, 2016 04:03:23
How does a PC obtain Reloads? I assume they are gear to be purchased, but can find no listing for Reloads in the gear list except for grenades. Am I missing this?
avatar
Marcin.Skupnik said Feb 13, 2016 07:20:08
The cost of weapon reloads is category specific, from the main book:

Handguns, SMGs, Assault Rifles, Shotguns, and LMGs have a Cost of 1, Encumbrance of 1, and Restriction one lower than the weapon.
Sniper Rifles have a Cost of 2, Encumbrance of 1, and Restriction one lower than the weapon.
HMGs, and Autocannons have a Cost of 2, Encumbrance of 2, and Restriction one lower than the weapon.
Flamers have a Cost of 1, Encumbrance of 2, and Restriction one lower than the weapon.

There are some weapons which have a different reload cost, but it's in the weapon description.
[Last edited Feb 13, 2016 08:32:31]
MC3 homebrewer. Check the thread!
CA-138 Deathlockdrum - when you want to put a grenade launcher on a grenade launcher, so you can launch grenades when launching grenades.
avatar
nkari69@gmail.com said Feb 20, 2016 20:46:16
p 267 : The mechanics Workshop is missing while the Repair waldo (suit mounted) is the only "suit mounted" mentioned.

p 268 : what's a tactical webbing waldos?

p 268 : what's a radar gun?

p277, 2nd column, 1st paragraph : I think there is a typo in "Zebulon had meant the transfer to me temporary"

p277, 2nd column, gunslinger : another typo, slaves is writen salvoes.
avatar
Ryan Smith said Feb 25, 2016 16:30:14
The Capitol Sourcebook talks about Saladin's Citadel being a current threat in the Doughpits. The core rules talk about Saladin appearing in YC 94, Saladin being a threat for about six years, then being defeated. In that book, the Citadel that appears in 1262 is of an unnamed threat. Can we get a explicit statement somewhere (Maybe in the GM's secret timeline) if Saladin has returned, or if one of these interpretations are wrong, or just what?
avatar
Akio Ootori said Mar 04, 2016 13:00:42
Hello.
P. 147 "Broadly, however, NPCs can spend Dark Symmetry points to get the same effects that PCs pay DSPs for, such as buying extra d20s."
I can't find any special rules about it. Does it mean that any NPC can spend up to 3 DSP to buy up 3 d20, no matter if it is Trooper or Nemesis?

P.108 Talent "Living shadow" "the character may add a number of d20s to his Stealth pool equal to the total number of Stealth talent ranks he has purchased."
May be it's my poor english, but it seems really odd to me. Does it mean, that you have up to 7 extra d20 on stealth roll if you obtained all stealth talents?

[Last edited Mar 04, 2016 13:03:31]
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Mar 05, 2016 12:41:13
P. 147 "Broadly, however, NPCs can spend Dark Symmetry points to get the same effects that PCs pay DSPs for, such as buying extra d20s."
I can't find any special rules about it. Does it mean that any NPC can spend up to 3 DSP to buy up 3 d20, no matter if it is Trooper or Nemesis?

Yes.

P.108 Talent "Living shadow" "the character may add a number of d20s to his Stealth pool equal to the total number of Stealth talent ranks he has purchased."
May be it's my poor english, but it seems really odd to me. Does it mean, that you have up to 7 extra d20 on stealth roll if you obtained all stealth talents?

That's correct; that's how the talent works. In hindsight, perhaps not what I'd do these days, though, but that's what the talent says.
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
avatar
JakeBernstein said Mar 07, 2016 18:51:17
The Precision Targeting Talent seems broken and linked to a prior version of the Called Shot rules. I was going to change it to "This talent gives all your Ranged attacks Vicious 1" to represent the ability to place your shots more accurately on every target.
-Apoc527
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Mar 08, 2016 12:46:46
Called Shot allows you to physically shift the die to an adjacent face (this allows us to account for the custom hit location dice) per point of Momentum spent. With two shifts, you can get to any hit location.

Precise Targeting allows you to make two such shifts for a single point of Momentum, essentially spending one Momentum to pick hit location.
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
Login below to reply: