Members | Sign In
Modiphius > Mutant Chronicles RPG
avatar

Official Core Book Errata

posted Oct 29, 2015 01:19:49 by BillHeron
I'm working on compiling the Official Errata for the MC Core Rulebook. If you've found any typos, grammar or other errors - please post them here and I'll add them to the log. Please add the page and paragraph if possible.
If you're asking for rules clarifications, please post as a new topic.
[Last edited Feb 08, 2017 05:19:30]
Silvershield GM. Achtung! Cthulhu, Infinity, and Mutant Chronicles freelancer.
Embroiled in all of the Mutant Chronicles 3e books in some way, occasionally as a writer.
page   first prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 next last
219 replies
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Jan 19, 2016 14:55:47
How many parries and dodges are allowed for a character per round. I read one only gets one response action per turn and its going to be paid with a DSP (my rulebook is currently not available, so no page numbers, sorry) Is that right? It seems a bit harsh and one free response with further ones payable by DSP more in the overall design ...

One Response Action per character per round, which costs one Dark Symmetry Point. This applies to NPCs as well, though the DSP cost is paid out of the GM's pool rather than into it.

As for rendering someone unconscious with Momentum...

All Momentum spends must make narrative sense first and foremost - that is, if there's a conflict between what makes sense for the story and what the rules allow, the story wins. every single time. So, rendering someone unconscious with a gunshot wound is harder to justify than with a blunt object.

Unconsciousness shouldn't last long (in the real world, if you're knocked out for longer than a couple of minutes, it's often indicative of serious head trauma). The simplest route is to apply the Perplexed status effect (MC3 rulebook, p137 - target gets a test each turn to shake the effect off, or they lose all their actions), but use Resistance tests instead of Willpower tests. The character also falls prone - increasing the difficulty of ranged attacks at Medium or longer range by one, but reducing the difficulty of melee attacks and ranged attacks at Close range by one (which may remove the need for a test). They're also a viable target to Coup de Grace actions.
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
avatar
UlrichDrees said Jan 19, 2016 15:26:13
Wonderful thank you. I was hoping for something like that.
avatar
Anton Lupanov said Jan 23, 2016 22:50:25
Hello again! I have two questions about dicepools.

1) Is there some restriction on the size of d20 dicepool? I know that you can only buy 3 dice with DSPs, but other than that? (some people in our group think that '3 DSP dice' restriction indicates that you can only have 5 dice in your pool, while others believe that you can roll any number of dice if your talents somehow allow that)

2) Can you use DSPs and CPs on the same roll?
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Jan 24, 2016 12:22:28
1) Is there some restriction on the size of d20 dicepool? I know that you can only buy 3 dice with DSPs, but other than that? (some people in our group think that '3 DSP dice' restriction indicates that you can only have 5 dice in your pool, while others believe that you can roll any number of dice if your talents somehow allow that)

Individual sources come with their own limits, but beyond that, there's no upper limit on the number of d20s rolled. If, for example, a character using an Improved M89 with the Smooth Reload talent can spend up to four Reloads (3 for Automatic, +1 for the talent), which would allow up +4d20, but that doesn't prevent +3d20 from DSP, or any other sources of bonus d20s.

2) Can you use DSPs and CPs on the same roll?

Yes.
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
avatar
Anton Lupanov said Jan 24, 2016 18:58:54
Thank you!
avatar
Psyfer said Jan 29, 2016 04:45:10
2 questions regarding Iconic Careers:

Firstly, does an Iconic career have to be your last career? I didn't see an answer to Doc-T's question back on November 04.

Secondly, can you repeat an Iconic career? the 'Fired' entry on page 57 implies you can (as it mentions repeating Iconic careers), but it's unclear. If so, what is the Life Point cost?

Just another Ghost in the Machine
avatar
Marcin.Skupnik said Jan 29, 2016 05:24:32
Firstly, does an Iconic career have to be your last career?

No, it cannot be your first career though.

Secondly, can you repeat an Iconic career?

You mean extend, yes you can. You receive only another career event and no other benefits, so there is no cost for it.

I have seen the term "repeat" in careers but with no explanation for it.
MC3 homebrewer. Check the thread!
CA-138 Deathlockdrum - when you want to put a grenade launcher on a grenade launcher, so you can launch grenades when launching grenades.
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Jan 29, 2016 13:43:15
MarcinASkupnik is correct.

Repeating a career would be taking the same career for multiple phases. You cannot repeat an Iconic career, though you can extend it.
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
avatar
Psyfer said Jan 29, 2016 21:00:57
Cheers, thank you for the quick response.
Just another Ghost in the Machine
avatar
BloodAxeKommando said Feb 02, 2016 01:31:43
On the Bauhaus Source Book:
About the career change limitations (page 37): If you enter an Iconic Career in your second or third career phase and then take another career phase by paying Life Points, do you have to return to the Primary Career chosen in the phase before the Iconic Career, or can you enter a new one?

Example: A character enters Hussar career in the first phase and then the Homebuilder Iconic Career. If you take a third phase, is he obliged to enter the Hussar career again or could he become a Farmer/Frontiersman instead?

About the Hussar Primary Career (page 41): In this career, you get only 10 Attribute bonuses instead of 11 like in every other career. If this is an error, I'd like to know which Attribute is improved further.
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Feb 02, 2016 12:28:16
The simple bit first - the Hussar should get +2 to Physique instead of +1. I've asked this to be corrected in the book.

Career limitations for Bauhaus. Broadly, yes, you have to stick to the same primary career (remember, the order in which you took your career phases mechanically does not necessarily represent the order they occurred in the character's life - you can rearrange them as necessary). However, the GM is free (and encouraged) to permit deviations from this if they make sense - your example is a perfectly reasonable and logical progression of career.
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
avatar
BloodAxeKommando said Feb 03, 2016 22:59:09
Thank you for the quick reply!

One general question: When you get fired from a Primary Career which is marked with an * in a faction source book, can you join a different career from that primary career table, like becoming a Wolfbairn after being fired from the Trenchers?

I suggest that it should be up to the GM to allow it if it makes sense.

Becoming a Private Investigator after being fired as a Capitolian Beat Cop would make sense, for example, as you are now working on your own.
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Feb 04, 2016 12:08:09
One general question: When you get fired from a Primary Career which is marked with an * in a faction source book, can you join a different career from that primary career table, like becoming a Wolfbairn after being fired from the Trenchers?

Yes - it's a different career, even if they're categorised together (that's more an organisational thing, so they all fit on the table). However, the GM should veto any career change that doesn't make sense - if two careers are connected to the same organisation, it may not be plausible to enter one if you've been fired from the other (a dishonourable discharge from the military might hinder getting into some other military careers, but it might also open some doors that might otherwise be closed).
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
avatar
Anton Lupanov said Feb 05, 2016 09:32:30
Page 119 of Core Book (Gaining CP) states:
While each character’s Chronicle point pool refreshes to three
Chronicle points at the beginning of each session<..>


But in other places (p.70, p.118) it is stated that character has 2-4 CP and his CP pool refreshes to its starting value each session. Is information on p.119 erroneous? Should that also be "its starting value" instead of "three Chronicle Points"?
[Last edited Feb 05, 2016 09:32:59]
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Feb 05, 2016 11:12:38
But in other places (p.70, p.118) it is stated that character has 2-4 CP and his CP pool refreshes to its starting value each session. Is information on p.119 erroneous? Should that also be "its starting value" instead of "three Chronicle Points"?

Yes, p119 is in error here - your starting Chronicle Points each session is determined during character creation, rather than just being 3.
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
Login below to reply: