Members | Sign In
Modiphius > Mutant Chronicles RPG
avatar

Official Core Book Errata

posted Oct 29, 2015 01:19:49 by BillHeron
I'm working on compiling the Official Errata for the MC Core Rulebook. If you've found any typos, grammar or other errors - please post them here and I'll add them to the log. Please add the page and paragraph if possible.
If you're asking for rules clarifications, please post as a new topic.
[Last edited Feb 08, 2017 05:19:30]
Silvershield GM. Achtung! Cthulhu, Infinity, and Mutant Chronicles freelancer.
Embroiled in all of the Mutant Chronicles 3e books in some way, occasionally as a writer.
page   first prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 next last
219 replies
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Jan 07, 2016 15:35:02
I didn't write the background there, but it's clearly a typo. Assume 1.7m instead of 1.9m.
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
avatar
Doc-T said Jan 09, 2016 12:16:51
Thanks Nathan for your precise answers to my questions!
[Last edited Jan 09, 2016 12:17:44]
avatar
Doc-T said Jan 09, 2016 12:30:56
And more questions, this time regarding Combat Momentum while fighting a Squad (MC3 core book, pg. 271)

An observation: the text in the right column on page 271 lists "attackers may spend two Momentum on an attack in order to pick a Commander out from within a Squad." This use of Momentum is missing in the Combat Momentum Tables on pages 127 and 475, but probably should be in there.

The questions:

Say, in a battle with a Squad, the PC attacks the squad as usual, does _not_ spend the "two Momentum" as given above. The PC has enough Momentum to select "Secondary Target". For this "Secondary Target" Momentum use, can the PC select the same Squad, but a "different individual" as target?

Say, in a battle with a Squad, the PC attacks the squad as usual, does _not_ spend the "two Momentum" as given above. The PC has enough Momentum to select "Secondary Target". For this "Secondary Target" Momentum use, can the PC select the Commander within the Squad as secondary target?

Say, in a battle with a Squad, the PC attacks the squad and spends two Momentum as per pg 271 to attack the Commander of the Squad. In addition, two more Momentum for "Secondary Target" is spent. Can the same squad (but an unnamed, different individual instead of the Commander) be attacked as secondary target?

Thanks!
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Jan 10, 2016 13:30:47
Say, in a battle with a Squad, the PC attacks the squad as usual, does _not_ spend the "two Momentum" as given above. The PC has enough Momentum to select "Secondary Target". For this "Secondary Target" Momentum use, can the PC select the same Squad, but a "different individual" as target?

Yes, but it still all comes out of the same pool of wounds - for practical purposes, to keep things easy for the GM to track, it should be applied to the same member of the squad - subtract Soak from each individual hit (from Spread, Devastating Blow, Secondary Target, etc), total up every individual hit's remaining damage, and apply that to the overall squad to see if any are killed and how many. In practical terms, using Secondary Target on a squad is the same as using Devastating Blow or a bonus hit from Spread - an extra hit that does half the main hit's damage.

With groups of NPCs, you want to avoid having multiple part-damaged NPCs in a single group, because it's just fiddly to track for no particular benefit.

Say, in a battle with a Squad, the PC attacks the squad as usual, does _not_ spend the "two Momentum" as given above. The PC has enough Momentum to select "Secondary Target". For this "Secondary Target" Momentum use, can the PC select the Commander within the Squad as secondary target?

No, unless there are only two members of the squad left - the trooper (primary target) and the commander. At this point, any excess damage from the trooper would carry over to the commander anyway, though, so the benefits of doing this are relatively minor. Barring that circumstance (where the commander is literally the only viable "secondary target"), if you don't spend the two Momentum to attack the commander directly, the commander is safe from being harmed, barring excess damage spilling over to him.

Say, in a battle with a Squad, the PC attacks the squad and spends two Momentum as per pg 271 to attack the Commander of the Squad. In addition, two more Momentum for "Secondary Target" is spent. Can the same squad (but an unnamed, different individual instead of the Commander) be attacked as secondary target?

Yes - the creatures in the squad are multiple creatures who effectively share a single action and a single pool of wounds.
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
avatar
Anton Lupanov said Jan 12, 2016 15:57:06
I have some questions regarding skill substitution.

MC3 Core, p.106, researcher talent:

Researcher
Prerequisite: Technician, Sciences Expertise 2
The character has a broad grounding in the physical sciences, and has become adept at applying them in everyday life. The character may substitute Sciences for any tests of Mechanics or Education.

Same page, Scientist talent:
Scientist
Prerequisite: Researcher
The character has intensely studied the physical sciences, conducted independent research, and has formulated advanced theories about the core nature of reality. He may reduce the difficulty of any Sciences test by one step per rank of Scientist. This may eliminate the need for a test. Scientist may be taken up to three times.

Question 1: If I use Researcher to use Sciences instead of mechanics, does this test become a science test (and I can use difficulty reduction from Scientist talent) or does it remain Mechanics test that just uses Sciences expertise and focus?

Question 2: May I chain-substitute? "Play the Part" talent from Education tree lets me use Education instead of Stealth in some situations. May I substitute Education for Stealth with "Play the Part" and then substitute Sciences for Education with "Researcher"?
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Jan 12, 2016 19:28:19
Question 1: If I use Researcher to use Sciences instead of mechanics, does this test become a science test (and I can use difficulty reduction from Scientist talent) or does it remain Mechanics test that just uses Sciences expertise and focus?

It remains the type of test it was - you just get to use the attribute, expertise, and focus from the substituting skill.

Question 2: May I chain-substitute? "Play the Part" talent from Education tree lets me use Education instead of Stealth in some situations. May I substitute Education for Stealth with "Play the Part" and then substitute Sciences for Education with "Researcher"?

No. Following from the previous answer, even if you use Education in place of Stealth, it's still a Stealth test.
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
avatar
Doc-T said Jan 12, 2016 20:11:28
Thanks Nathan!
avatar
Anton Lupanov said Jan 12, 2016 21:40:12
Thank you for your answer. Does this mean that you can re-roll a die with "Graceful" Acrobatics talent even if you use "Reflexive block" to dodge with you close combat skill, but "Hard Target" doesn't give you a bonus in this situation, because it only affects Acrobatics focus?
[Last edited Jan 12, 2016 21:40:49]
avatar
Anton Lupanov said Jan 13, 2016 09:07:18
And another question. Doomtrooper iconic career receives "any" armor and two "any" weapons. Is it really "any"? Can he have brotherhood-exclusive gear (especially all those swords and armors from their source book)? Can he take something inordinately expensive (like heirloom items from Mishima sourcebook - darkslayer katana with 3 special properties costs something like "restriction 7 cost 44")? What guidelines should be used for determining what is available to him?
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Jan 13, 2016 13:14:31
Thank you for your answer. Does this mean that you can re-roll a die with "Graceful" Acrobatics talent even if you use "Reflexive block" to dodge with you close combat skill, but "Hard Target" doesn't give you a bonus in this situation, because it only affects Acrobatics focus?

Right on both counts.

And another question. Doomtrooper iconic career receives "any" armor and two "any" weapons. Is it really "any"? Can he have brotherhood-exclusive gear (especially all those swords and armors from their source book)? Can he take something inordinately expensive (like heirloom items from Mishima sourcebook - darkslayer katana with 3 special properties costs something like "restriction 7 cost 44")? What guidelines should be used for determining what is available to him?

It's really "any", though owning Brotherhood items when you're not Brotherhood is still illegal (so Brotherhood items can't be chosen, outside of GM's permission; same with Dark Legion items which are always illegal). Doomtroopers get the best gear, equipped by their corporation and the Cartel to fight the Dark Legion. There are special high-end armours designed specifically for Doomtroopers, specific high-end weapons that are made for Doomtroopers to use (many of which are autocannons). The GM is free to veto particularly outlandish choices, however.

Doomtrooper is one of the most difficult careers to enter. The access to a wide range of powerful gear is part of that.
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
avatar
Anton Lupanov said Jan 13, 2016 16:11:48
Thanks again! I'm sorry to bother you so much, but I have another question (our group is divided on this issue).

Close combat talents "Specialist" and "Weapon master" give certain benefits when you are using chosen type of melee weapons. Do they work with unarmed strikes (if you selected 1H as your weapon type)?

Some of us think that they do, because unarmed strike is a melee weapon and listed as such on p.234. Others say that they don't, because unarmed strikes do not use close combat skill and thus are ineligible for close combat talents. There is also an opinion that unarmed strike is not a weapon at all because it is not an object, but a part of character's body. To summarize, my questions are:

1) Is unarmed strike a weapon?
2) Do unarmed strike and other "unarmed combat" weapons receive benefits from "Specialist" and "Weapon master" close combat talents?

[Last edited Jan 13, 2016 16:13:13]
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Jan 14, 2016 13:50:47
Close combat talents "Specialist" and "Weapon master" give certain benefits when you are using chosen type of melee weapons. Do they work with unarmed strikes (if you selected 1H as your weapon type)?

Unarmed strikes are weapons (they're listed alongside weapons), but they use the Unarmed Combat skill, so they can't benefit from talents that specify the Close Combat skill. As Specialist and Weapon Master don't specify a particular skill, only a close combat weapon, unarmed strikes (and any other melee weapon that uses Unarmed Combat, such as brass knuckles) still benefit.
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
avatar
Anton Lupanov said Jan 16, 2016 19:45:22
Thanks again! I have another question.

Page 71 of Core Book states:
"Characters’ starting assets are equivalent to their final Lifepath
Personality score. These may be spent immediately to purchase
additional equipment, or saved for later use."

How does this acquisition of additional equipment works:
1) As usual, but without teamwork (if characters don't know one another) and ignoring time spent on these checks (because it is happening before the start of the campaign)
2) Simply buying items at cost, without any rolls
3) Some other variant
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Jan 17, 2016 12:41:54
Page 71 of Core Book states:
"Characters’ starting assets are equivalent to their final Lifepath
Personality score. These may be spent immediately to purchase
additional equipment, or saved for later use."

How does this acquisition of additional equipment works:
1) As usual, but without teamwork (if characters don't know one another) and ignoring time spent on these checks (because it is happening before the start of the campaign)
2) Simply buying items at cost, without any rolls
3) Some other variant

1 is the correct answer here. Broadly, it shouldn't allow characters to get more than a few small items - the bulk of their important gear should have been obtained through the stages of the Lifepath.

Anything with a final Restriction above 2 is going to be quite challenging to obtain on a basic 2d20 skill test (you need extra d20s to hit difficulty 3+ reliably), which funnels characters towards gear from their faction (or illegal gear for those Under the Radar). It's up to the GM if they want to allow players to buy extra dice for this (by adding to the Dark Symmetry pool at the start of the first session of play), as that would allow players to pick up rarer gear before play.
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
avatar
UlrichDrees said Jan 19, 2016 08:56:57
Some clarification needed please

How many parries and dodges are allowed for a character per round. I read one only gets one response action per turn and its going to be paid with a DSP (my rulebook is currently not available, so no page numbers, sorry) Is that right? It seems a bit harsh and one free response with further ones payable by DSP more in the overall design ...

And a big one: One of the possible combat momentum spends is for knocking out an opponent. Yesterday my players pooled in 4 Momentum Points to knock out von Hölle (major antagonist) two times. First test was passed by the villain, second not. So he got knocked out. Fine. But what does this mean?
There is absolutey no descrition for this kind of state. How long it lasts, what does it mean? I could read it by the word. He is unsconscious and helpless. Fine, too. But its predictable by then, that everytime my players run into a major or minor opponent they are going to use that rule, knock him out with one or two attacks and kill him or question him later.
I could rule that maybe its not possible with a gun - as they did it yesterday - but its not rule out in the combat momentum table and maybe its only hittng someone so hard or at the right spot, that he blacks out by the pain, so why not with a firearm?

If the 2d20 system wat not so rules-heavy, I wouldn't bother with it, but thats not the case, so I'm wondering, if somenone just overlooked the need to define this "overkill" a bit better?

I would be happy to get a solution, which should not be, you're the DM, just rule it, because my players will not really be happy with me stealing their new toy.
Login below to reply: