Members | Sign In
Modiphius > Mutant Chronicles RPG
avatar

Official Core Book Errata

posted Oct 29, 2015 01:19:49 by BillHeron
I'm working on compiling the Official Errata for the MC Core Rulebook. If you've found any typos, grammar or other errors - please post them here and I'll add them to the log. Please add the page and paragraph if possible.
If you're asking for rules clarifications, please post as a new topic.
[Last edited Feb 08, 2017 05:19:30]
Silvershield GM. Achtung! Cthulhu, Infinity, and Mutant Chronicles freelancer.
Embroiled in all of the Mutant Chronicles 3e books in some way, occasionally as a writer.
page   first prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next last
219 replies
avatar
simpsonnicholas1@gmail.com said Dec 15, 2015 01:53:26
Clarification needed on this:

page 129 of the Corebook: "If a character sprints as a Standard Action, and is eligible to make an attack afterward, the skill test for the attack has its difficulty increased by 1 step."

Does the phrase "Eligible to make an attack" refer to the character having spent a Chronicle Point/Swift Action after spending their standard action to Sprint, or does it mean that a character can Sprint as a standard action, then essentially take another standard action to attack, but at +1 difficulty?
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Dec 15, 2015 11:01:40
It refers to extra standard actions gained from Chronicle points/Swift Attack, hence the "If" - it's referring to a particular situation, rather than the usual state of affairs.
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
avatar
rickardwaern said Dec 21, 2015 23:25:20
Character creation states (page 34) that human attributes normally range between 6-12, with 8 representing an average score. It then further states that in some cases it can rise further, representing the pinnacle of human ability.

During CC you can fairly easily reach 14 or even 16 in some attributes. My question is whether this is permissible, meaning that starting characters are "at the pinnacle of human ability", or not. And if not, how should excess points be handled?

EDIT: Thanks for the reply!
[Last edited Dec 22, 2015 13:03:46]
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Dec 22, 2015 12:27:37
The 6-12 range is a suggested "normal range", but there's no mechanical restrictions there - the text is there to point out that characters with 13+ in an Attribute are exceptional.
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
avatar
RaymondBennett said Dec 27, 2015 13:16:33
I have a question about banked momentum. When players spend banked momentum, the core book says that they can chose to spend before or after a roll. Do they need to succeed on the roll to use the momentum, or is it meant to allow them to use those points as a way to succeed on a failed roll? For example, a player decides to use momentum before his roll, and gets one success on a D2 difficulty roll. Can he then use a point of momentum to succeed?
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Dec 27, 2015 14:52:03
I have a question about banked momentum. When players spend banked momentum, the core book says that they can chose to spend before or after a roll. Do they need to succeed on the roll to use the momentum, or is it meant to allow them to use those points as a way to succeed on a failed roll? For example, a player decides to use momentum before his roll, and gets one success on a D2 difficulty roll. Can he then use a point of momentum to succeed?

No. Momentum is only useful on a successful roll, and banked Momentum (or Bonus Momentum from certain items, talents, etc) is not a substitute for successes.

The important part is that you don't need to spend Momentum until it's needed - if you know that you want to use it for a particular effect in advance, you can spend it then, or you can wait until after the roll to see what you want to use it for, in conjunction with whatever Momentum you've generated on that roll.
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
avatar
Doc-T said Jan 02, 2016 02:01:25
Clarification regarding parry/dodge actions and momentum involved, please...

MC3 Corebook, pg. 86, at Riposte description, it sais "Momentum remaining from the Parry action may be carried over to this melee attack."

Say, the Dark Legion creature attacked, the attack roll was successful, and generated 2 momentum.
Say, now the PC parries, and the parry roll was successful, and generated 5 momentum.

Thereby, as both sides succeeded, but the PC's parry roll generated more momentum, the Parry action was succesfull and a Riposte is applicable.

How many momentum "remain" for the riposte melee attack? All 5, because these were rolled, or only 3, because the 5 generated are reduced by the 2 momentum of the parried attack?

avatar
Doc-T said Jan 02, 2016 02:23:29
MC3 corebook, pg. 211, Parry X weapon quality, in combination with pg. 136 ff., critically/seriously injured status effect.

Say, during a combat round, the PCs have acted, now it's the dark legion phase of a combat round. A PC is attacked, but successfully parries, hence gets the benefit of the Parry X weapon quality. Now, say, a second - and maybe third - attack hits the character, who is unable to parry again, but the Parry X still applies, but is not enough to prevent getting wounded. Say, the ongoing attacks put the character into the seriously wounded status.

In the following combat round, though all PCs may act before the Dark Legion, the PC wounded in the last round as described above, only acts _after_ the Dark Legion, as a wounded character acts last. In this round now, the wounded PC is attacked several times by the Dark Legion, before it is "his turn". Does this mean, the wounded PC gets the Parry X quality of the previous combat round during the current combat round, several times, before he acts?

This sounds unintuitive, as getting wounded provides a benefit, the PC would not have gotten, if he hadn't been wounded: multiple applications of the Parry X benefit of the previous round.

Is this effect intended?
avatar
Doc-T said Jan 02, 2016 02:24:35
Second question regarding "Parry X", MC3 corebook pg. 211. The rule sais "if a character [...] makes a parry attempt", it does not say "if a character successfully parries".

Does this mean, the Parry X bonus of the weapon(s) is applied, even if the parry roll was not successful?

Does this mean, the Parry X bonus of the weapon(s) is applied, even if the parry roll was successful, but the parry action was not successful, because not enough momentum was rolled to outperform the parried attack?
avatar
Doc-T said Jan 02, 2016 02:32:00
Second question regarding critically/seriously injured status effect, MC3 corebook pg. 136 ff.

"A seriously Injured character acts last during a combat round, after all player characters and GM controlled characters have acted."

The Dark Legion, also has character(s :-), see pg. 269 ff.

So, if 2 PCs fight 2 Nepharites, and 1 PC and 1 Nepharite are injured, what is the turn sequence?

PC -> Nepharite -> wounded PC -> wounded Nepharite, or
PC -> all Dark Legion characters, wounded or not -> wounded PC?
[Last edited Jan 02, 2016 02:36:44]
avatar
Doc-T said Jan 02, 2016 02:40:07
Another question regarding Opposed Skill Test in context of attack and parry:

If an attack is successful and generates Momentum, and a response parry attempt results in a successful parry skill test, but the momentum generated is not enough to win the opposed skill test, hence, the attack continues, is the amount of the momentum of the attack reduced by the momentum generated by the parry skill test?
avatar
Doc-T said Jan 02, 2016 02:48:20
Clarification regarding Dodge/Parry, MC3 core book, pg. 126.

The rules regarding Dodge and Parry read "After being declared the target of a Ranged Attack or Close Combat/Close Combat Attack, a character can perform a Dodge/Parry Response Action [...]"

Does this mean, the dodging/parrying character has to declare, and pay, for the Response Action _before_ the attacker performs his attack skill test, meaning spending the DSP and potentially CP to dodge/parry, - and forfeit his chance to dodge/parry a potential second attack - even if the attacker then fails his attack skill test?
avatar
Doc-T said Jan 02, 2016 03:06:10
Combat Momentum table, MC3 core book pg. 127 and pg. 475.

Can the table entries not marked with a "+" sign after the momentum number applied multiple times per roll (as long as the guidelines do not specify "This may only be used once per turn."?

So, if the attack resolution has 12 momentum available, can damage dice re-rolled once for one momentum, then another set of dice again for another momentum, then two Defend momentum spends declared on 2 friendly characters, two secondary targets nominated and affected for four momentum, 3 gear items be managed, then a withdraw from combat be performed?
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Jan 03, 2016 15:30:52
Clarification regarding parry/dodge actions and momentum involved, please...

MC3 Corebook, pg. 86, at Riposte description, it sais "Momentum remaining from the Parry action may be carried over to this melee attack."

Say, the Dark Legion creature attacked, the attack roll was successful, and generated 2 momentum.
Say, now the PC parries, and the parry roll was successful, and generated 5 momentum.

Thereby, as both sides succeeded, but the PC's parry roll generated more momentum, the Parry action was succesfull and a Riposte is applicable.

How many momentum "remain" for the riposte melee attack? All 5, because these were rolled, or only 3, because the 5 generated are reduced by the 2 momentum of the parried attack?

All 5 - Momentum scored is compared, but they don't cancel out.

MC3 corebook, pg. 211, Parry X weapon quality, in combination with pg. 136 ff., critically/seriously injured status effect.

Say, during a combat round, the PCs have acted, now it's the dark legion phase of a combat round. A PC is attacked, but successfully parries, hence gets the benefit of the Parry X weapon quality. Now, say, a second - and maybe third - attack hits the character, who is unable to parry again, but the Parry X still applies, but is not enough to prevent getting wounded. Say, the ongoing attacks put the character into the seriously wounded status.

In the following combat round, though all PCs may act before the Dark Legion, the PC wounded in the last round as described above, only acts _after_ the Dark Legion, as a wounded character acts last. In this round now, the wounded PC is attacked several times by the Dark Legion, before it is "his turn". Does this mean, the wounded PC gets the Parry X quality of the previous combat round during the current combat round, several times, before he acts?

This sounds unintuitive, as getting wounded provides a benefit, the PC would not have gotten, if he hadn't been wounded: multiple applications of the Parry X benefit of the previous round.

Is this effect intended?

It's not intended, but it's also not a massive benefit; you are, after all, wounded at that point. It's an artefact of combat being turn-based - similar would happen if the PC wasn't wounded, but the GM spent DSPs to act before the PC's turn.

As effects go, it's not massive, and there are a number of other effects (often negative ones) where the timings are based on character turns, so it's not all beneficial.

Second question regarding "Parry X", MC3 corebook pg. 211. The rule sais "if a character [...] makes a parry attempt", it does not say "if a character successfully parries".

Does this mean, the Parry X bonus of the weapon(s) is applied, even if the parry roll was not successful?

Does this mean, the Parry X bonus of the weapon(s) is applied, even if the parry roll was successful, but the parry action was not successful, because not enough momentum was rolled to outperform the parried attack?

Yes - even a failed parry triggers the Parry X effect - it would only rarely have an effect if it only triggered on a successful parry. The act of declaring a parry triggers the benefit of the quality.

Second question regarding critically/seriously injured status effect, MC3 corebook pg. 136 ff.

"A seriously Injured character acts last during a combat round, after all player characters and GM controlled characters have acted."

The Dark Legion, also has character(s :-), see pg. 269 ff.

So, if 2 PCs fight 2 Nepharites, and 1 PC and 1 Nepharite are injured, what is the turn sequence?

PC -> Nepharite -> wounded PC -> wounded Nepharite, or
PC -> all Dark Legion characters, wounded or not -> wounded PC?

The first - PCs act before NPCs, then wounded PCs act before wounded NPCs.

Another question regarding Opposed Skill Test in context of attack and parry:

If an attack is successful and generates Momentum, and a response parry attempt results in a successful parry skill test, but the momentum generated is not enough to win the opposed skill test, hence, the attack continues, is the amount of the momentum of the attack reduced by the momentum generated by the parry skill test?

Again, Momentum is compared in opposed tests, but not cancelled out.

Clarification regarding Dodge/Parry, MC3 core book, pg. 126.

The rules regarding Dodge and Parry read "After being declared the target of a Ranged Attack or Close Combat/Close Combat Attack, a character can perform a Dodge/Parry Response Action [...]"

Does this mean, the dodging/parrying character has to declare, and pay, for the Response Action _before_ the attacker performs his attack skill test, meaning spending the DSP and potentially CP to dodge/parry, - and forfeit his chance to dodge/parry a potential second attack - even if the attacker then fails his attack skill test?

Yes. Declaring a dodge or parry is something of a risk - you're committing to a last-ditch defence.

Combat Momentum table, MC3 core book pg. 127 and pg. 475.

Can the table entries not marked with a "+" sign after the momentum number applied multiple times per roll (as long as the guidelines do not specify "This may only be used once per turn."?

So, if the attack resolution has 12 momentum available, can damage dice re-rolled once for one momentum, then another set of dice again for another momentum, then two Defend momentum spends declared on 2 friendly characters, two secondary targets nominated and affected for four momentum, 3 gear items be managed, then a withdraw from combat be performed?

No. The Momentum with a scaling effect (a "+") can be applies multiple times per turn, but the others cannot be. Also, assume in all cases that you cannot re-roll a die of any kind that you've already re-rolled, whether it's a d20, a d6, or a [DS]/damage dice - the second result stands.

Where Momentum spends are described in text, if a Momentum spend is described as "for X Momentum", then it can be used once per roll. Where it can be used multiple times, it will be written as "for each Momentum spent" or "for every X Momentum spent".
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
avatar
Marcin.Skupnik said Jan 06, 2016 11:50:34
Imperial book, page 62, Oakenfist entry, second paragraph.

The height of the Oakenfists is stated as "rarely reaching 1,9m" and is termed short, is this a typo or is the average height in the MC universe 1,9m or taller?
[Last edited Jan 06, 2016 11:51:00]
MC3 homebrewer. Check the thread!
CA-138 Deathlockdrum - when you want to put a grenade launcher on a grenade launcher, so you can launch grenades when launching grenades.
Login below to reply: