Members | Sign In
Modiphius > Mutant Chronicles RPG
avatar

Official Core Book Errata

posted Oct 29, 2015 01:19:49 by BillHeron
I'm working on compiling the Official Errata for the MC Core Rulebook. If you've found any typos, grammar or other errors - please post them here and I'll add them to the log. Please add the page and paragraph if possible.
If you're asking for rules clarifications, please post as a new topic.
[Last edited Feb 08, 2017 05:19:30]
Silvershield GM. Achtung! Cthulhu, Infinity, and Mutant Chronicles freelancer.
Embroiled in all of the Mutant Chronicles 3e books in some way, occasionally as a writer.
page   1 2 3 4 5 next last
219 replies
avatar
Doc-T said Nov 05, 2015 21:35:02
Rule question, re MC Core Book pg. 50, character generation:

"At a minimum, you will go through two Primary Career phases or one Primary Career and then one Iconic Career (see Decision Seven, Iconic Career), without cost. You can choose to stay in and repeat a career or select a new career as a third or fourth phase."

It is very unclear, if the Iconic Career phase _must_ be the last career phase of a character. Does it have to?

One could interpret, that it is very possible to do one Primary Career Phase, then an Iconic Career Phase, then referring to "You can choose to ... select a new career as a third or fourth phase." and choose a third and fourth career phase of another Primary Career.

avatar
Doc-T said Nov 05, 2015 21:38:02
Rule/editing error, re MC Core Book pg. 40, talents of B4 Military Academy:

"Talents: Select one talent from any of your Mandatory Skills or Ranged Combat."

I guess this is supposed to be

"Talents: Select one talent from any of your Mandatory Skills or Ranged Weapons."

because there is no skill called "Ranged Combat".
avatar
Doc-T said Nov 05, 2015 21:52:13
Language issue, re MC Core Book pg 120:

"If a character takes a Restricted Action, he can only perform one Free Action that turn."

That's an oxymoron. If he can _only_ perform one Free Action, than he couldn't have performed the "Restricted Action" in the same turn, which is the pre-requisite to "only perform one Free Action" that turn. What is probably meant is something like

"If a character takes a Restricted Action, in addition he can only perform one Free Action that turn."
avatar
Doc-T said Nov 05, 2015 21:57:55
Implicit issue, re MC Core Book pg 120, 121:

I have the impression, that taking a Standard Action implies preventing taking any number of Free Actions. However, this is never stated explicitly. One could argue, that as Free Actions are, well, free, one could do some number of Free Actions and a Standard Action in addition, which is most likely not intended.
avatar
Doc-T said Nov 05, 2015 22:04:58
Layout issue on the MC Core Book (Printer Friendly).pdf

Chapter 11, Combat Basics, from page 122 to 131 the pages have the "full design" brown-greyish background structure and wire-style border, where it should be plain white without border frame.
avatar
Doc-T said Nov 05, 2015 22:08:37
PDF generation issue on the MC Core Book (Printer Friendly).pdf (didn't check with other versions)

The bookmark in the PDF file of Chapter 04, Core Mechanics, is labelled "Bookmark 1".
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Nov 06, 2015 00:28:17
Clarification: combat actions

A character receives a Standard Action, a Restricted Action, and a Free Action each turn. He may exchange his Standard Action for a Restricted Action, and/or his Restricted Action for any number of Free Actions.

A character receives one of each Action type at minimum, barring any status effects that take away particular actions.
[Last edited Nov 06, 2015 00:28:41]
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
avatar
UlrichDrees said Nov 06, 2015 12:18:08
What about the number of extra Standard Actions after using a Chronicle Points? I don't have the actual page numbers. But in the chapter about Chronicle Point one can get only one extra action and in the combat chapter one can get an extra action for every Chronicle Point used?
avatar
Doc-T said Nov 07, 2015 00:36:13
Thanks Nathan for the clarification!

"A character receives a Standard Action, a Restricted Action, and a Free Action each turn. He may exchange his Standard Action for a Restricted Action, and/or his Restricted Action for any number of Free Actions."

Based on the clarification, if I "exchange his Standard Action for a Restricted Action" for a Restricted Action, "and/[...]" the initial Restricted Action for any number of Free Actions, I could do one Restricted Action and any number of Free Actions in my turn.

But, that is in contradiction to "If a character takes a Restricted Action, he can only perform one Free Action that turn." on pg. 120 of the MC Core Book, because by clarification I can do more Free Actions than only one.

Now I am even more confused :-)
avatar
Vladimir said Nov 07, 2015 12:02:01
A minor thing, but I think still worth mentioning.

The Luna City map has a big white blot east of the Capitol/Cybertronic quarters. The white territory is marked only as "The Perimeters" that refers to all land outside the center.

There is also a generic marker with number 72 - Ekotrad. But Ekotrad is a park with a lake, and should be located in Gotland.

The map is awesomely stylish, though.
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Nov 07, 2015 12:44:39
What about the number of extra Standard Actions after using a Chronicle Points? I don't have the actual page numbers. But in the chapter about Chronicle Point one can get only one extra action and in the combat chapter one can get an extra action for every Chronicle Point used?

One extra action from a Chronicle point per round at most.

"A character receives a Standard Action, a Restricted Action, and a Free Action each turn. He may exchange his Standard Action for a Restricted Action, and/or his Restricted Action for any number of Free Actions."

Based on the clarification, if I "exchange his Standard Action for a Restricted Action" for a Restricted Action, "and/[...]" the initial Restricted Action for any number of Free Actions, I could do one Restricted Action and any number of Free Actions in my turn.

But, that is in contradiction to "If a character takes a Restricted Action, he can only perform one Free Action that turn." on pg. 120 of the MC Core Book, because by clarification I can do more Free Actions than only one.

Now I am even more confused :-)

A bit of explanation here.

Restricted actions came in after a big redesign of the action economy, where there were only Standard and Free Actions. Some Free Actions were better than others, so they were listed as "your only Free Action for the turn". This evolved into Restricted Actions, which were taken in place of the character's ability to take Free Actions that turn. A single Free Action was permitted beyond that because "no free actions" caused some odd rules interactions.

The text is something of a mess here, yes, and causes a problem in this particular combination of actions. The clarification is correct here, and I'll sort out some errata to that effect.
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
avatar
Doc-T said Nov 21, 2015 10:02:43
Clarification please: MC3 Core Book 125, „The Ranged/Close Combat Attack now becomes an opposed test, opposed by the defending character’s Acrobatics/Close Combat skill.“

The defender is rolling against which Difficulty Rating? Always D1, irrespective of the attacker's DR? Or, against the same DR the attacked rolled against? Or, ...?
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Nov 21, 2015 10:47:29
Average D1. All skill tests are D1 unless otherwise noted or the GM feels that other factors make it more difficult.
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Nov 27, 2015 14:16:31
I've removed my previous post to avoid cluttering the Errata thread.
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
avatar
HuraOptymizm said Dec 02, 2015 02:47:28
Page 20 describes that the old Gregorian calendar is abolished (which was first officially introduced by a papal bull in Europe in 1582 AD, slightly correcting the previous Julian calendar) and replaced with a new one. It would mean that there is a new way of calling months, possibly changing their number, days and the length of the year. I suspect you meant that a new calendar era (year numbering system) was introduced rather than a new calendar (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Calendar_era). A new calendar era that replaced the previous Christian Era still keeping the Gregorian calendar intact.

If you really meant a new calendar than it would be useful to explain what is the new one: is it still based on the Gregorian one, how many months are there, does it introduce new names for months and so on...
Login below to reply: