Ranged attacks targeting a prone character at
Medium range or further are made at +1 diffi culty
and the prone character also gains +2 Soak for each
Effect rolled on cover dice
- Page 38 Hassasin character sheet. the hassasin can't communicate with the other players. None of his two languages are in common with the rest of the characters.
The version I have has that fixed, he now has a quantronic translator that grants him English.
Momentum. Is there a limit to number of times a use can be invoked per action? Or timing? As I understand it right now. With 4 Momentum, you can add a CR die, then add another after the first one is rolled, then re-roll potentially all 6CR dice, then reroll them any of them again? Thus using all 4 Momentum? Or is there a timing limit. Like they all have to be declared before any are resolved? Or once you start resolving Momentum, you can't spend any more?
what does it mean? been prone do not grants cover? you have to roll cover dices first an then add 2 dices for each effect to the regular soak dices? it seems too complicated.
Covering fire reload comsumption is in adition of the heat cost from reactions?
- Page 9 side CD chart & Page 20 weapon quality knockdown. As it is deduced from page 9 chart, once you roll an effect, the enemy does a check to nulify it. As reading Page 20 you deduce that the enemy goes prone atomatically after trigering the effect and then he have to perform a [DN] check in order to stand up. It it's the page 9 version, Does the enemy get an automatic reaction versus all effects or just knock down?
I read it to be that anyone shooting at you from Medium range and beyond gets +1 difficulty. If you are within Reach of cover, and would get with +2 soak dice. Or +4 soak dice (light and heavy cover), you would gain an extra 2 points of Soak, not dice, for eachb"effect" rolled. So with light cover you could at best, gain 4 points of soak. (2 effects for a total of +4 points) or with heavy cover , 8 points of soak.
In terms of timing, you basically spend Momentum one point (or one chunk of points) at a time. And you can do so at essentially any time and repeatedly in sequence. So you could, for example, roll damage, then spend 1 Momentum to Re-Roll Damage, then spend 2 Momentum for Bonus Damage. Or you could spend 2 Momentum to attempt a Knockout and, if that fails, spend 2 Momentum to attempt a Disarm.
Being prone does not grant Cover dice. But if you're prone and within Reach of Cover, then the Cover dice you're rolling generate +2 Soak for each Effect you roll. (If you aren't in cover, then you aren't rolling cover dice, and the portion of the rules for being prone is irrelevant to your current situation.)
I'm confused, but want to understand your confusion. There's nothing on pg. 9 about enemies nullifying Effects. The rule on pg. 20 requiring the target of a Knockdown to make an Athletics test is specific to Knockdown and should be understood as a free action. If the test is passed, the target is not knocked prone at all because they are "knocked prone unless" they make the test.
Could you explain how you interpreted the check to prevent falling prone to be a check to stand back up from prone? I'd like to make sure the verbiage is clear, but I don't see what's causing the misunderstanding here.
The result of 6 generates an Effect, so she checks the pistol’s weapon qualities. One of the qualities is Knockdown (see pg. 20), so the Effect means that the Morat trooper will need to pass an Athletics test (D1) or fall proneso, as I undesrtand from de text, the morat has an oportunity of spending a free action in reaction to the knockdown effect to nulify it's effect.
If one or more Effects is rolled, the target is knocked prone unless it can pass an Athletics test with a difficulty equal to the number of Effects rolled.
So, one of the tests has an error. Either the page 9 should say "so the Effect means that the Morat trooper falls prone and will need to pass an Athletics test (D1) to stand up.", "so
the Effect means that the Morat trooper can spend 1 heat to react and pass an Athletics test (D1) to don't fall prone." or the thext of the page 20 should say "If one or more Effects is rolled, the target should make Athletics test with a diffi culty equal to the number of Effects rolled or is knocked prone."
I have another 2 questions:
When 2 or more weapon cualities take effect at the same time. The taser function of the SIDEWINDER
SECURITY STUNNER is a good example. it's 2 properties; Knockdown & Stun. If I roll 3 sixes, I have to distribute the number of effects into the 2 properties or they both benefit from the 3 effects roled?
The Nonlethal Disregard of damage is aplied after or before the damage soak? It's not clear in the text.
To my reading, both page 9 and page 20 support that reading. However, I also know what actual rule is, having been working on this system for close to two years, so this might well stop me spotting unclear text.
Knockdown: If one or more Effects is rolled, the target has to inmediately pass an Athletics test with a difficulty equal to the number of Effects rolled or be knocked prone.
Any clarification about the close quarters question? What penalies are laid upon ranged weapons when in reach of enemies?
when is produced the Bleeding condition? it should be produced as effect by all blade weapons or it's produced by some especial weapon/quality? It can be used as complication on reactions? And what about blind condition? can by imposed as an effect of a NonLethal dirty move in a fight like throwing sand on the enemies face?
Unless a ranged weapon has the Close Quarters quality, all attacks made while an enemy is within Reach of you increase in difficulty by one step. The Close Quarters quality removes that difficulty increase.
I don't know if this has been asked before but can you use Reaction to attack at range? I have seen that in Infinity wargame the players can do 'ARO' where one can attempt to fire as another unit is coming out of cover, moving or also firing. I think this idea is very cool. Is 'Covering Fire' a rpg version of this 'ARO'? Or can you use reaction to also make another range attack at the opponent?