Members | Sign In
Modiphius > Infinity RPG
avatar

INFINITY QUICKSTART

posted Oct 07, 2015 05:48:47 by ChrisBirch
Discuss the Quickstart, error corrections etc here
Founder & Publisher
page   first prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next last
91 replies
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Oct 10, 2015 13:48:53
The final game will have hit locations, but the quickstart does not in order to save space.

A character's Vigour total applies to all hit locations - the main purpose of hit locations is variations in armour (if you're not wearing a helmet, you'll have less Armour on your head, for example).

If a character suffers five or more damage of any kind in a single hit, and/or is reduced to 0 in that capability (Vigour, Resolve, Firewall, etc), then the character suffers Harm (a Wound, a Trauma, a Breach). Taking five hits for 1 damage each wouldn't cause a Wound (unless one of those hits reduced the character to 0 Vigour), but taking a single hit for 5+ damage would.
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
avatar
AbhishekRay said Oct 10, 2015 14:03:51
Alright, I get it now perfectly. I know the full rules are not in quickstart but is there any consequences for having hit in particular hit locations? What I am meaning is serious injuries for particular location like maybe missing eye for head or missing limbs?
avatar
Vladimir said Oct 10, 2015 14:32:31
Thanks for you previous answer, but it looks like the last bit about damage was overlooked. I'll repost it:

I did not have a chance to run the quickstart yet (planning to do it though). Wanted to ask how deadly the game turn out? Can the characters tank damage like crazy, or is every shot a threat (again, as per the war game)? What about NPCs?
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Oct 10, 2015 15:32:28
The effects of Wounds as standard do not vary by hit location, no. We're discussing that as a possible optional rule for Conan, but there's no location-based injuries currently planned for Infinity.

In terms of lethality... naturally, it's more lethal for NPCs than for PCs, simply because most NPCs are taken out by a single Wound (etc). Combat is designed so that damage can accrue quickly, but longer-term effects of damage are fairly rare. A character's Vigour (etc) recovers quickly, but Wounds (etc) don't. Consequently, a character can shrug off a couple of smaller hits during combat, but the big hits tend to have a lasting effect.
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
avatar
Roland Everaert said Oct 10, 2015 15:48:25
@AbhishekRay, It seems more logical if you get a serious harm from a 5 or more damage attack.

Concerning the scenario it self, When the speculo killer make her shot what happen? Does she miss or does she hit someone?

I don't see anything about that.
avatar
AbhishekRay said Oct 10, 2015 15:52:44
Alright, out of curiosity if the hit locations has no mechanical debilitating effect then it is present just to emphasize amour? I was hopping that if you hit PCs in the hand with a called shot you might disarm the character.
avatar
Vladimir said Oct 10, 2015 15:59:30
Thanks. As long as the characters can't swim in lava *cough*D&D*cough*, I'm fine with the damage system.
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Oct 10, 2015 17:38:28
It's just for armour purposes, yes, though as I've noted we've got some possible optional rules for location-based Wound effects in discussion. Disarming a character would be an example of spending Momentum on an attack.
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
avatar
AlbertoMosqueraVillarino said Oct 12, 2015 07:47:12
more posible errors in the characters.

- the equipment of the hassasin (photoreactive clothing) and the hexas (holomask), seems to be swaped. Al least regarding the miniature game and the background from corbus belli. Holomask suits better the hassasin impersonation and it's knife. Photoreactive clothing suits better the TO camuflage of the hexas and it's silencer pistol.

- I seems odd the fact that the father knight don't have reloads for the combi rifle (burst 2) and the hexas has 3 reloads for it's stuner (burst 1)

More Questions about rules

- On damage rolls: onli 1s and 2s count, but the all count as 1 or the 2s count as 2 damage? it seems pretty hard to score 5 damage in 2s count as 1 damage
- Regarding the reloads: Can the players pick up reloads even if they don't have reloads in their character sheets? where should be the limit to the reloads that the players can carry?
- medium (same as combirifle) doesn't feel right for a sniper rifle optimal range.
- There is no duration to the Stun/stagered condition of Sidewinder stunners. So, when does this condition end? only if heat is paid and a succesful absterge?

- Spread: How does it work? it says: "For each Effect generated, deal half the
damage rolled to another hit location". It is refered to the damage post-rolling? It's listed as X but no reference to how does this value work.
[Last edited Oct 12, 2015 09:31:43]
avatar
Nathan.Dowdell said Oct 12, 2015 09:18:15
- On damage rolls: onli 1s and 2s count, but the all count as 1 or the 2s count as 2 damage? it seems pretty hard to score 5 damage in 2s count as 1 damage

1s and 2s count as the values rolled, so if you rolled 5 dice, and got 1, 1, 2, 4, 6, then your damage total would be 4, plus any static bonuses from the weapon (normally 1) and any bonuses from Momentum spent (+1 damage per Momentum), and anything extra from the Effect (if it had Vicious 1, then that 6 would be an extra +1).

- Regarding the reloads: Can the players pick up reloads even if they don't have reloads in their character sheets? where should be the limit to the reloads that the players can carry?

Reloads are equipment, so you can always pick them up and carry them. The practical limit for carrying Reloads is based on the encumbrance rules which aren't in the quickstart, so it's GM's discretion how much ammo is too much.

- There is no duration to the Stun/stagered condition of Sidewinder stunners. So, when does this condition end?

Duration of the Stun quality should be 1 round for each Effect rolled. So if you roll 2 6s when rolling damage with the stunners, the target is staggered for 2 rounds, or until he takes the Absterge action (which clears status effects on a successful skill test)

- Spread: How does it work? it says: "For each Effect generated, deal half the
damage rolled to another hit location". It is refered to the damage post-rolling? It's listed as X but no reference to how does this value work.

Spread X; for each Effect rolled, it inflicts X additional hits, each inflicting half the final damage (round up, after rolling, Momentum spent, etc) again. This is a separate hit, to a separate hit location (obviously, not relevant in the quickstart as there's no hit locations to begin with), which has to overcome Soak separately. The X determines the number of additional Spread hits, so Spread 2 would inflict 2 extra hits for each Effect, each inflicting half damage.

It's brutal against unarmoured or lightly armoured targets, but not particularly powerful against well-protected enemies.
Game Development - 2D20 System
System Design - Star Trek Adventures

Rules questions and playtest feedback to nathan@modiphius.com
avatar
AlbertoMosqueraVillarino said Oct 12, 2015 10:00:25
are the corrections/errata gonna be sumarized? a corrected version of the quickstart is gonna be released?
avatar
Jonathan Killstring said Oct 12, 2015 17:37:58
are the corrections/errata gonna be sumarized? a corrected version of the quickstart is gonna be released?


They've already updated the quickstart since it's release, so I'd guess so.
avatar
AlbertoMosqueraVillarino said Oct 12, 2015 22:35:23
They've already updated the quickstart since it's release, so I'd guess so.

I meen current version errors. And I think a sumary of all the erratas and it's current status (fixed or not and fixes) can be realy helpful.

SOME POSIBLE ERROS DETECTED
- Page 20 Close Quarters: Can be used without penalty in a "scuffle". It should be clearer a reference to the reach range. Or especify if it affects shooting from a close range fight to enemies not related in the fight. And I really can't find info about those penalties in the rest of the quickstart.
- Page 20 There is no written reference to the duration to the Stun condition. Or generic rules for conditions duration. (already clarified)
- Page 28 side chart. Title says "CORPORAL FELIX YAGOS" when it should say "CORPORAL FELIX YORGOS"
- Page 32 I find pretty odd that the optimal range of the Multi Sniper Rifle is medium (like combi rifles) instead of long or extreme.
- Pages 37, 38 & 39 - reloads are not generaly listed alongside de weapon. Just listed in the Moira's heavy pistol.
- Page 38 Hassasin character sheet. the hassasin can't communicate with the other players. None of his two languages are in common with the rest of the characters.
- Page 38-39 Regarding the miniature game and the background from corbus belli, the equipment of the hassasin (photoreactive clothing) and the hexas (holomask), seems to be exchanged. Holomask suits better the hassasin tipical impersonation. Photoreactive clothing it's closer to the TO camuflage of the hexas and the use of his silencer pistol.

I don't know if some of them are intentional just for easyness on the QS or just errors. If they are, they can be originated in the corebook/campaing original text or just from transcription. I would apreciate correction clarification regarding this matters or just notification that they have been noted. ;)
[Last edited Oct 12, 2015 22:36:41]
avatar
AdamEzra said Oct 12, 2015 22:54:23
Momentum. Is there a limit to number of times a use can be invoked per action? Or timing? As I understand it right now. With 4 Momentum, you can add a CR die, then add another after the first one is rolled, then re-roll potentially all 6CR dice, then reroll them any of them again? Thus using all 4 Momentum? Or is there a timing limit. Like they all have to be declared before any are resolved? Or once you start resolving Momentum, you can't spend any more?
avatar
AdamEzra said Oct 12, 2015 22:56:41
- Page 38 Hassasin character sheet. the hassasin can't communicate with the other players. None of his two languages are in common with the rest of the characters.
The version I have has that fixed, he now has a quantronic translator that grants him English.
Login below to reply: