Members | Sign In
Modiphius > Mutant: Year Zero (Free League Publishing)
avatar

Questions for the designers

posted Jan 15, 2015 12:49:02 by ChrisBirch
If you have questions about the rules or forthcoming products please post them here
Founder & Publisher
page   first prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 next last
190 replies
avatar
TomasFriaLigan said Apr 07, 2015 19:42:21
@gtimms: I'd like to add a huge SPOILER warning here, and then go ahead an answer your question. The idea is that the Elder was not alone in the beginning, rather he was the leader of a team of scientists who have died off during the years. Perhaps this is not entirely clear in the backstory texts, sorry about that!

Great to hear that you are enjoying the game!
avatar
gtimms said Apr 07, 2015 19:47:47
Tomas, thanks ever so much for the fast response and answer! And yes, Mutant Year Zero is an amazing RPG and game experience on several different levels. Thanks for such an excellent game.
avatar
fcwesel said Apr 08, 2015 03:24:45
Can someone please clarify the first power of PARASITE? With examples, please.
avatar
fcwesel said Apr 08, 2015 03:26:58
We noticed that LIGHT EATER in the PDF is different than in the book. the PDF states:

LIGHT EATER
You need only to eat one ration of grub per day to avoid losing Strength.

The actual book states:

LIGHT EATER
You need only to eat one ration of grub every other day to avoid losing Strength.


We assume the book is right.
avatar
TomasFriaLigan said Apr 08, 2015 07:42:50
@fcwesel: Hi! Yes, the book is right. Always! :)
The PDF was produced before the book went to print and we had the chance to correct a few minor mistakes, including this one.
avatar
Jakub Koprowski said Apr 09, 2015 12:37:53
I think that Parasite do this:
You are damaged and have 3/4(max) Strength. You meet Zone-ghul and steal Strength from him. Now you have 4/4 Strength and ZG has 1 Strength less. You must be at Arm's Length.
avatar
fcwesel said Apr 09, 2015 18:21:54
So, the first power allows the Parasite Mutant to heal themselves then, correct? They pick what stat is damaged and then takes that stat from the enemy to heal themselves. Then the enemy must heal that stat back up by their normal means?

The third power states:

You can even heal serious or critical injuries – this will cost you 2 and 4 MP, respectively, but not damage you.

I assume this means Serious Injury costs 2MP to heal. Critical Injury costs 4MP? I know what a Critical Injury is, there's a fun table for that, but what is a "serious injury".
avatar
Jakub Koprowski said Apr 09, 2015 21:33:08
Yes, its like trauma drain:)

In he book is other version of text (not in PDF):
You can even heal critical injuries - this will cost you 2 and 4MP, respectively, but not damage you.

So there is no "seroius injury".

Anyway. This is correct version from Fria Ligans forum:
You can heal (another humanoids) critical injury at a cost of 2 MP or 4 MP if it is a deadly critical injury. This doesn't cause any injury on you.

[Last edited Apr 10, 2015 10:35:49]
avatar
fcwesel said Apr 12, 2015 15:32:42
Ahhh, okay. THAT makes sense now. Thanks, Koperkuba!
avatar
gtimms said Apr 12, 2015 21:19:17
On the Sector Environment Table, p156, the item listed for the dice roll 32 is a 'Glasified Field.' What's a Glasified Field? Thanks in advance!
avatar
StéphaneIdczak said Apr 16, 2015 14:38:49
Hello all,
I have two questions :

1°) What really happens when a Chronicler fails his Inspire roll for helping another character?

2°) It is written in rules that a Heal roll can me made for healing a broken Character, making recovering a number of attribute points equal to the number of succes rolled. But can this Heal skill also be used for healing a non-broken Character? Can we Heal someone before he is broken?

Thank you in advance for your answers.
avatar
StéphaneIdczak said Apr 21, 2015 09:37:53
Glasified Field


It's a large place that has been wiped by a huge blast explosion with very intensive heat. All is flat and the sand has melted into a huge glass field. You cannot hide in such a place and there is nothing to find.
avatar
TomasFriaLigan said Apr 21, 2015 16:23:26
@StéphaneIdczak: Sorry for a slow reply!

1) When failing to Inspire, the Chronicler can get in the way or suffer some other adverse effect, details are up the GM. See page 59, bottom right.

2) No - Heal can only be used on broken victims. To recover further trauma, resources are needed (page 89-90).

@fcwesel: Yes, Koperkuba's explanation of Parasite is exactly right.

@gtimms: StéphaneIdczak explains it well!
avatar
StéphaneIdczak said Apr 21, 2015 16:54:57
Thx for answers. Infortunately the list of adverse effects at page 59 is very light. :(
avatar
GilesTimms said Apr 27, 2015 03:58:27
Thanks for the answer regarding Glasified Field
Login below to reply: