Members | Sign In
Modiphius > Mutant Chronicles Playtest Discussion (CLOSED)
avatar

Damage explanation

posted Jul 25, 2014 01:20:25 by VaughanCockell
I'm not sure if anyone else has said this but the description of how to interpret a damage roll is a bit confusing at the moment and has been in both versions so far. It says roll dice equal to the damage rating, clear enough. If an attribute is involved, roll those too, clear enough.

Here is the tricky part - only 1's and 2's count for damage. This needs making very clear and spelling out, as it is unusual. The example seems to suggest that 1's and 2's are added together AS VALUES as well but the text does not draw sufficient attention to this. So make clear you discard 3's, 4's and 5's, put 6's to one side, and add together the result. So 2 dice each showing 1 will total 2, 2 dice showing 2 will total 4. If this is not the case and you count the number of dice, then the example needs rewriting as it has a single 1 and a single 2, but has them totalling 3. It may also be helpful to make it clear in regard to bonus damage dice that they follows the same rules as the main weapon damage roll.

Again, as this is a very unusual and specific dice mechanic, I think it needs spelling out clearly and unambiguously from first principles, to avoid inevitable confusion and head scratching.

Additionally, the example on the bottom of pg 37 has a mistake. the damage code is 1+[DS]4, 4 dice results are produced, but the example states the player rolls 3 six-sided dice, not four.

Yours,
Vaughan
[Last edited Feb 10, 2016 00:15:36]
page   1
2 replies
avatar
ChristofferLundberg said Sep 12, 2014 05:32:48
Well, from what I can interpret, rolling a 1 and a 2 does add +3 to the damage.
avatar
ChrisBirch said Oct 04, 2014 17:39:44
The language is being improved on this :-)
Founder & Publisher
This topic has been locked by a moderator, you can no longer reply.